U.S. patent application number 12/397524 was filed with the patent office on 2010-09-09 for risk premiums for conversion-based online advertisement bidding.
This patent application is currently assigned to GOOGLE INC.. Invention is credited to Scott S. Benson, Kai Chen, Nicholas C. Fox, James A. Gallagher, Angshuman Guha, Tomas Lloret Llinares, Bhavesh R. Mehta, Markus Mock, Abhinay Sharma, Andrew E. Silverman.
Application Number | 20100228636 12/397524 |
Document ID | / |
Family ID | 42679075 |
Filed Date | 2010-09-09 |
United States Patent
Application |
20100228636 |
Kind Code |
A1 |
Silverman; Andrew E. ; et
al. |
September 9, 2010 |
RISK PREMIUMS FOR CONVERSION-BASED ONLINE ADVERTISEMENT BIDDING
Abstract
An advertiser specifies a conversion-based bid for a conversion
event associated with an ad. If a conversion event occurs for the
ad, an effective conversion-based bid can be adjusted by a risk
premium associated with the ad. An account associated with the
advertiser can be debited based upon the adjusted effective
conversion-based bid.
Inventors: |
Silverman; Andrew E.; (San
Francisco, CA) ; Chen; Kai; (Santa Clara, CA)
; Sharma; Abhinay; (Mountain View, CA) ; Benson;
Scott S.; (Santa Clara, CA) ; Gallagher; James
A.; (Mountain View, CA) ; Mock; Markus;
(Cupertino, CA) ; Mehta; Bhavesh R.; (Cupertino,
CA) ; Fox; Nicholas C.; (San Francisco, CA) ;
Guha; Angshuman; (Los Gatos, CA) ; Llinares; Tomas
Lloret; (Mountain View, CA) |
Correspondence
Address: |
FISH & RICHARDSON P.C.
PO BOX 1022
MINNEAPOLIS
MN
55440-1022
US
|
Assignee: |
GOOGLE INC.
Mountain View
CA
|
Family ID: |
42679075 |
Appl. No.: |
12/397524 |
Filed: |
March 4, 2009 |
Current U.S.
Class: |
705/14.72 ;
705/26.1; 705/30; 706/12 |
Current CPC
Class: |
G06Q 30/0276 20130101;
G06Q 30/0275 20130101; G06Q 30/02 20130101; G06Q 30/0601 20130101;
G06Q 40/12 20131203 |
Class at
Publication: |
705/14.72 ;
705/27; 705/30; 706/12 |
International
Class: |
G06Q 30/00 20060101
G06Q030/00; G06F 15/18 20060101 G06F015/18 |
Claims
1. A computer-implemented method comprising: determining at an
advertisement server whether a specified conversion-based bid
associated with an online advertisement specified by an advertiser
qualifies the online advertisement for placement by the
advertisement server; if a conversion event for the online
advertisement occurs, adjusting an effective conversion-based bid
with a risk premium allocation subsystem, the adjustment being
based on a risk premium associated with the online advertisement,
the effective conversion-based bid being derived from the specified
conversion-based bid for the online advertisement; and debiting an
account associated with the advertiser with the advertisement
server, the debiting being based upon the adjusted effective
conversion-based bid.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein determining whether the specified
conversion-based bid qualifies the online advertisement for
placement comprises performing an impression based auction.
3. The method of claim 2, wherein the impression based auction
comprises a second-price auction using impression based
bidding.
4. The method of claim 2, further comprising converting the
specified conversion-based bid to an impression-based bid using a
predicted conversion rate and a predicted click-through rate
associated with the auction, the impression-based bid facilitating
participation of the advertisement in the impression-based
auction.
5. The method of claim 4, further comprising if a conversion event
for the online advertisement occurs, converting an effective
impression-based bid from the impression-based auction to provide
the effective conversion-based bid using the predicted conversion
rate and predicted click-through rate.
6. The method of claim 1, wherein the risk premium adjusts the
effective conversion-based bid based on a risk that the predicted
conversion rate is incorrect.
7. The method of claim 1, wherein the risk premium adjusts the
effective conversion-based bid based on a risk that the advertiser
does not accurately report conversions from the advertisement
impression.
8. The method of claim 1, wherein the risk premium comprises the
difference between the effective conversion-based bid and the
specified conversion-based bid.
9. The method of claim 1, wherein the risk premium comprises a
percentage of the effective conversion-based bid.
10. The method of claim 1, wherein the risk premium comprises a
fixed fee added to the effective conversion-based bid.
11. The method of claim 1, wherein the risk premium comprises a
subscription based fee charged to the advertiser for use of
conversion based bids.
12. The method of claim 1, further comprising automatically mapping
one or more impression context features to a predicted conversion
rate using a learning model.
13. The method of claim 12, wherein the learning model is a machine
learning system model that includes rules for mapping one or more
impression context features to a predicted conversion rate using
conversion data.
14. The method of claim 12, further comprising: normalizing the
predicted conversion rate to remove the effect of different
conversion definitions.
15. The method of claim 1, wherein the risk premium is applied
pre-conversion by discounting the specified conversion-based bid
using the risk premium prior to performing an auction for placement
of the advertisement by the advertisement server.
16. The method of claim 1, wherein the risk premium is applied
post-conversion by applying the risk premium to the effective
conversion based bid an up to the specified conversion-based
bid.
17. A computer-readable medium having instructions stored thereon,
which, when executed by a processor, causes the processor to
perform operations comprising: determining whether a maximum
conversion-based bid associated with an online advertisement
specified by an advertiser qualifies the online advertisement for
placement; if a conversion event for the online advertisement
occurs, increasing an effective conversion-based bid using a risk
premium associated with the online advertisement, the effective
conversion-based bid being derived from the maximum
conversion-based bid for the online advertisement; and debiting an
account associated with the advertiser based upon the adjusted
target conversion-based bid.
18. The computer-readable medium of claim 17, wherein determining
whether the maximum conversion-based bid qualifies the online
advertisement for placement comprises performing an impression
based auction.
19. The computer-readable medium of claim 18, wherein the
impression based auction comprises a second-price auction using
impression based bidding.
20. The computer-readable medium of claim 18, further operable to
cause the processor to perform operations comprising converting the
maximum conversion-based bid to an impression-based bid using a
predicted conversion rate and a predicted click-through rate
associated with the auction, the impression-based bid facilitating
participation of the advertisement in the impression-based
auction.
21. The computer-readable medium of claim 20, further operable to
cause the processor to perform operations comprising if a
conversion event for the online advertisement occurs, converting an
effective impression-based bid from the impression-based auction to
provide the effective conversion-based bid using the predicted
conversion rate and predicted click-through rate.
22. The computer-readable medium of claim 17, wherein the risk
premium adjusts the effective conversion-based bid based on a risk
that the predicted conversion rate is incorrect.
23. The computer-readable medium of claim 17, wherein the risk
premium adjusts the effective conversion-based bid based on a risk
that the advertiser does not accurately report conversions from the
advertisement impression.
24. The computer-readable medium of claim 17, wherein the risk
premium comprises the difference between the effective
conversion-based bid and the maximum conversion-based bid.
25. The computer-readable medium of claim 17, wherein the risk
premium comprises a percentage of the effective conversion-based
bid.
26. The computer-readable medium of claim 17, wherein the risk
premium comprises a fixed fee added to the effective
conversion-based bid.
27. The computer-readable medium of claim 17, wherein the risk
premium comprises a subscription based fee charged to the
advertiser for use of conversion based bids.
28. The computer-readable medium of claim 17, further operable to
cause the processor to perform operations comprising automatically
mapping one or more impression context features to a predicted
conversion rate using a learning model.
29. The computer-readable medium of claim 28, wherein the learning
model is a machine learning system model that includes rules for
mapping one or more impression context features to a predicted
conversion rate using conversion data.
30. The computer-readable medium of claim 28, further operable to
cause the processor to perform operations comprising normalizing
the predicted conversion rate to remove the effect of different
conversion definitions.
31. A system comprising: an advertisement server operable to
determine whether a conversion-based bid associated with an online
advertisement specified by an advertiser qualifies the online
advertisement for placement; and a risk premium allocation
subsystem operable to adjust an effective conversion-based bid
using a risk premium in the event of a conversion associated with
the online advertisement, the effective conversion-based bid being
derived from the specified conversion-based bid for the online
advertisement; wherein the advertisement server is further operable
to debit an account associated with the advertiser based upon the
adjusted effective conversion-based bid.
Description
TECHNICAL FIELD
[0001] The subject matter of this application is generally related
to online advertising.
BACKGROUND
[0002] The rise of the Internet has enabled access to a wide
variety of content items, e.g., video and/or audio files, web pages
for particular subjects, news articles, etc. Such access to these
content items has likewise enabled opportunities for targeted
advertising. For example, content items of particular interest to a
user can be identified by a search engine in response to a user
query. The query can include one or more search terms, and the
search engine can identify and, optionally, rank the content items
based on the search terms in the query and present the content
items to the user (e.g., according to the rank). This query can
also be an indicator of the type of information of interest to the
user. By comparing the user query to a list of keywords specified
by an advertiser, it is possible to provide targeted advertisements
to the user.
[0003] Another form of online advertising is advertisement
syndication, which allows advertisers to extend their marketing
reach by distributing advertisements to additional partners. For
example, third party online publishers can place an advertiser's
text or image advertisements on web pages that have content related
to the advertisement. Because the users are likely interested in
the particular content on the publisher webpage, they are also
likely to be interested in the product or service featured in the
advertisement. Accordingly, such targeted advertisement placement
can help drive online customers to the advertiser's website.
[0004] Advertisers can bid for placements based upon how much the
advertiser values the placement. In some examples, the advertiser
can bid based upon impressions of the advertisement. In such
examples, the advertiser is charged whenever the advertisement is
served. In other examples, the advertise can bid based upon a
click-through for the advertisement. In such examples, the
advertiser is charged only when a user clicks on the advertisement
after the advertisement is served to the user. In some examples, a
second price auction can be used to identify a winning bid. In a
second price auction, the bidder with the highest bid is identified
as the winner. The winning bid is defined as a bid that is
incrementally more than the next highest maximum bid. Thus, the
winner of the auction pays slightly more than the next highest
maximum bid specified by the user. The winning bid is the cost paid
by the advertiser for the advertising slot. Thus, the cost to the
advertiser is often a discounted value of the maximum bid specified
by the advertiser (e.g., Discount=1-Cost/MaxBid).
SUMMARY
[0005] An advertiser specifies a maximum conversion based bid
(e.g., CPA bid or other target) for a conversion event associated
with an ad. A determination can be made as to whether the maximum
conversion based bid qualifies the advertisement for a placement.
If a conversion from the placement is identified, an effective
conversion based bid can be adjusted using a risk premium
associated with the online advertisement. The effective
conversion-based bid can be derived from the specified maximum
conversion based bid for the advertisement. An account associated
with the advertiser can be debited by the adjusted effective
conversion-based bid.
DESCRIPTION OF DRAWINGS
[0006] FIG. 1 is a block diagram of an implementation of an online
advertising system.
[0007] FIG. 2 illustrates an implementation of a user interface for
specifying keyword bidding options.
[0008] FIG. 3 illustrates an implementation of a user interface for
setting conversion based bids.
[0009] FIG. 4 is a block diagram of an implementation of an
advertising management system for implementing value-based bidding
with risk premium allocation.
[0010] FIG. 5 is a flow diagram of an implementation of a risk
premium allocation process using conversion data and ad impression
context data.
[0011] FIG. 6 is a block diagram of an implementation of an
architecture for the ad management system shown in FIG. 4, which
can be configured to implement the process shown in FIG. 5.
DETAILED DESCRIPTION
Advertising System Overview
[0012] FIG. 1 is a block diagram of an implementation of an online
advertising system 100. In some implementations, one or more
advertisers 102 can directly, or indirectly, enter, maintain, and
track advertisement ("ad") information in an advertising management
system 104. The ads may be in the form of graphical ads, such as
banner ads, text only ads, image ads, audio ads, video ads, ads
combining one of more of any of such components, etc. The ads may
also include embedded information, such as a links,
meta-information, and/or machine executable instructions. One or
more publishers 106 may submit requests for ads to the system 104.
The system 104 responds by sending ads to the requesting publisher
106 for placement on one or more of the publisher's web properties
(e.g.,. websites and other network-distributed content).
[0013] Other entities, such as users 108 and the advertisers 102,
can provide usage information to the system 104, such as, for
example, whether or not a conversion or click-through related to an
ad has occurred. This usage information can include measured or
observed user behavior related to ads that have been served. The
system 104 performs financial transactions, such as crediting the
publishers 106 and charging the advertisers 102 based on the usage
information.
[0014] A computer network 110, such as a local area network (LAN),
wide area network (WAN), the Internet, or a combination thereof,
connects the advertisers 102, the system 104, the publishers 106,
and the users 108.
[0015] One example of a publisher 106 is a general content server
that receives requests for content (e.g., articles, discussion
threads, music, video, graphics, search results, web page listings,
information feeds, etc.), and retrieves the requested content in
response to the request. The content server may submit a request
for ads to an ad server in the system 104. The ad request may
include a number of ads desired. The ad request may also include
content request information. This information can include the
content itself (e.g., page or other content document), a category
corresponding to the content or the content request (e.g., arts,
business, computers, arts-movies, arts-music, etc.), part or all of
the content request, content age, content type (e.g., text,
graphics, video, audio, mixed media, etc.), geo-location
information, etc.
[0016] In some implementations, the content server can combine the
requested content with one or more of the ads provided by the
system 104. This combined content and ads can be sent to the user
108 that requested the content for presentation in a viewer (e.g.,
a browser or other content display system). The content server can
transmit information about the ads back to the ad server, including
information describing how, when, and/or where the ads are to be
rendered (e.g., in HTML or JavaScript.TM.).
[0017] Another example publisher 106 is a search service. A search
service can receive queries for search results. In response, the
search service can retrieve relevant search results from an index
of documents (e.g., from an index of web pages). Search results can
include, for example, lists of web page titles, snippets of text
extracted from those web pages, and hypertext links to those web
pages, and may be grouped into a predetermined number of (e.g.,
ten) search results.
[0018] The search service can submit a request for ads to the
system 104. The request may include a number of ads desired. This
number may depend on the search results, the amount of screen or
page space occupied by the search results, the size and shape of
the ads, etc. In some implementations, the number of desired ads
will be from one to ten, or from three to five. The request for ads
may also include the query (as entered or parsed), information
based on the query (such as geo-location information, whether the
query came from an affiliate and an identifier of such an
affiliate), and/or information associated with, or based on, the
search results. Such information may include, for example,
identifiers related to the search results (e.g., document
identifiers or "docIDs"), scores related to the search results
(e.g., information retrieval ("IR") scores), snippets of text
extracted from identified documents (e.g., web pages), full text of
identified documents, feature vectors of identified documents, etc.
In some implementations, IR scores can be computed from, for
example, dot products of feature vectors corresponding to a query
and a document, page rank scores, and/or combinations of IR scores
and page rank scores, etc.
[0019] The search service can combine the search results with one
or more of the ads provided by the system 104. This combined
information can then forwarded to the user 108 that requested the
content. The search results can be maintained as distinct from the
ads, so as not to confuse the user between paid advertisements and
presumably neutral search results.
[0020] Finally, the search service can transmit information about
the ad and when, where, and/or how the ad was to be rendered back
to the system 104.
[0021] As can be appreciated from the foregoing, the advertising
management system 104 can serve publishers 106, such as content
servers and search services. The system 104 permits serving of ads
targeted to documents served by content servers. For example, a
network or inter-network may include an ad server serving targeted
ads in response to requests from a search service with ad spots for
sale. Suppose that the inter-network is the World Wide Web. The
search service crawls much or all of the content. Some of this
content will include ad spots (also referred to as "inventory")
available. More specifically, one or more content servers may
include one or more documents. Documents may include web pages,
email, content, embedded information (e.g., embedded media),
meta-information and machine executable instructions, and ad spots
available. The ads inserted into ad spots in a document can vary
each time the document is served or, alternatively, can have a
static association with a given document.
[0022] In some implementations, the system 104 includes a
value-based bidding system which predicts or estimates a conversion
rate and conversion value of a given ad impression for an
advertiser 102 using conversion data and ad impression context, as
described in reference to FIGS. 2-5. In further implementations,
the system 104 includes a risk premium adjustment system used to
adjust price paid by the advertiser 102 to account for the risk
associated with misprediction of click-through and/or conversion
rates, or the risk that an advertiser 102 will hide conversions
through underreporting or adjustment of conversion parameters.
User Interface Examples
[0023] FIG. 2 illustrates an implementation of a user interface 200
for specifying keyword bidding options. In some implementations,
advertisers can interact with an online ad targeting service (e.g.,
ad management system 104) through the user interface 200. In this
particular implementation, the user interface 200 includes a
campaign management tab 202 which presents several bidding strategy
options that can be selected by the advertiser using a mouse or
other input device.
[0024] A first option 204 allows the advertiser to specify a
maximum monetary value the advertiser is willing to pay for a click
or impression. The advertiser can choose the first option 204 to
control each bid or make frequent bid adjustments. A second option
206 allows the advertiser to set a 30-day budget and to manage bids
to get the most clicks. The advertiser can choose the second option
206 to automatically get clicks within the advertiser's budget. A
third option 208 allows the advertiser to set a target bid (e.g.,
CPA target) for each of the advertiser's keywords/ad groups. The
advertiser can choose the third option 208 to automatically get the
most conversions for the advertiser's target bid and to implement
automated value-based bidding. The advertiser can choose a fourth
option 210 to set a conversion-based bid. The advertiser can use
the fourth option to pay only for sales, thereby being able to
compare the advertisement cost directly to a sale. As shown in FIG.
2, the user can select an option by first clicking on a bubble or
other user interface element (e.g., a button), then clicking a
"Continue" button representation 212 to receive a new dialog.
[0025] Although the user interface 200 allows for specifying a CPA
target, other target metrics are possible, such as
Return-On-Advertising Spend (ROAS), Return-On-Investment (ROI) and
any other appropriate metrics.
[0026] FIG. 3 illustrates an implementation of a user interface 200
configured for setting conversion-based bids upon the selection of
the conversion-based bidding option of FIG. 2 (e.g., fourth option
210). A similar interface can be provided upon selection of the
target bidding option in FIG. 2 (e.g., third option 208).
[0027] In this particular implementation of the user interface 200,
the campaign management tab 202 presents a new dialog in response
to the advertiser clicking/selecting the third option 208 and
clicking the "Continue" button representation 212 in the previous
dialog shown in FIG. 2. In some implementations, the new dialog
includes two tabs: an "Set Individually" tab 300 for allowing a
user to edit ad groups individually and an "Edit all in one box"
tab 303 for allowing the user to edit all ad groups with a single
box. In the example shown, the "Edit Individually" tab 300 is
selected by the advertiser. The tab 300 allows the advertiser to
set a CPA target for each of the advertiser's ad groups. If an ad
group has insufficient conversion data available to generate a
meaningful prediction of its conversion rate, then a default Max
CPC bid specified by the advertiser can be used.
[0028] In the example shown, the advertiser has two active ad
groups 306: "California Hotels" and "Florida Hotels." Tab 303
allows the user to input a single CPA target for all the
advertiser's ad groups 306. The advertiser can separately specify a
different CPA bid for each ad group 306 using text boxes 308. When
the CPA is specified, the advertiser can click the Save Changes
button representation 310 to save the bids and activate the
campaign. The remainder of the tab 300 is used to present campaign
data, such as the number of clicks or impressions,
click-through-rate (CTR), average CPC, cost, conversion rate,
etc.
[0029] Of particular interest in the tab 300 is the presentation of
a recommended CPA bid 312 for providing the advertiser with
guidance in selecting a CPA bid. The recommended CPA bid is
theoretically equivalent to the advertiser's current CPC bids. For
example, if the advertiser currently has a CPC bid of $0.30 and a
conversion rate of 5%, the recommended CPA bid for conversions
would be $6.00 ($6.00*5%=$0.30). In practice the advertiser's
current CPC bids will typically vary from ad to ad and from keyword
to keyword for a single ad. In such cases, the recommended CPA bid
for a conversion event can be computed using
CPA = i = 1 N Max CPCbid i i = 1 M Conversion i , ( 1 )
##EQU00001##
where the numerator of [1] is the sum of N Max CPC bids over all
the clicks that the advertiser received during a relevant period of
time (e.g., over the past month), and the denominator of [1] is the
total number of conversions M that resulted from these clicks.
[0030] It should be noted that the user interfaces 200 shown in
FIGS. 2 and 3 are merely examples, and other user interfaces having
more or fewer user interface elements, or different user interface
elements, can be used to provide advertisers access to the
functionality described herein.
Advertising Management System For Conversion-Based Bidding
[0031] FIG. 4 is a block diagram of an implementation of an ad
management system 400 for implementing conversion-based bidding. In
some implementations, the system 400 generally includes a
conversion manager 402, a web server 404, and an ad server 406. The
system 400 is operable to communicate with publishers 414,
advertiser 416 and users 418, over one or more networks 420 (e.g.,
the Internet, intranet, Ethernet, wireless network).
[0032] In some implementations, a publisher 414 can request an ad
from the ad server 406. In response to the request, one or more ads
(e.g., image ads) are sent to the publisher 414. The advertisements
sent to the advertisers can be selected based upon an auction
(e.g., a second price auction). In those instances where the bids
are based upon multiple bidding paradigms (e.g., CPA, CPC, CPM),
the bids can be converted to a common bidding paradigm and the
winning bid can be identified. In those implementations where a CPA
bid is included in the auction, the CPA based bid can be converted
to a CPM or CPC based maximum bid. If the converted bid wins the
auction, a winning bid can be identified as a bid that is
incrementally more than the next highest maximum CPM or CPC based
bid.
[0033] The ad(s) can be placed on, for example, a web property
owned or operated by the publisher 414 (e.g., a web site). In some
implementations, the web page can have a page content identifier
(ID), which can be used by the ad server 406 to determine ad
context for targeting ads that the user 418 will be receptive to.
In some implementations, the ad context can be determined using
clustering technology and geographic location data.
[0034] In some implementations, when the user 418 clicks an ad
served by the ad server 406, the user 418 is directed to a landing
page on web property (e.g., a web site) of the advertiser 416. The
user 418 may then perform a conversion event at the website (e.g.,
make a purchase, register). The conversion event generates
conversion data which is sent to the system 400 and stored in a
repository 408 (e.g., MySQL.RTM. database). In this manner, a
conversion history can be accumulated and maintained for each ad or
ad group in an advertiser's ad campaign.
[0035] If the winning bid was a conversion based bid, the winning
bid can be converted to a CPA based winning bid and the advertiser
can be charged the price associated with the CPA based winning bid.
Alternatively, a discount can be calculated from the converted
maximum CPM or CPC based bid (e.g.,
Discount=1-(WinningBid/ConvertedMaxBid)). The calculated discount
can then be applied to the maximum CPA bid to identify the cost
charged to the advertiser for the conversion.
[0036] Another approach to identifying the cost charged to the CPA
based bid is to use an average click auction discount weighted by
the predicted conversion rate (e.g., average auction discount over
all clicks weighted by predicted conversion rate). One result of
computing auction discount in this way is that it equalizes click
and conversion costs for an advertiser by accounting for
mispredictions associated with the predicted conversion rate. In
some implementations, the fact that a CPA based bid wins an auction
does not affect a publisher. For example, the publishers can be
paid based upon click-through for an advertisement regardless of
whether a conversion occurs and the system can assume the risk for
misprediction of the conversion rate.
[0037] In some implementations, an advertiser 416 can access the
system 400 through the network 420 and the web server 404 using,
for example, a web browser (e.g., Microsoft.RTM. Internet Explorer,
Mozilla.TM., Firefox.TM., or the like). The web server 404 serves
the advertiser 416 one or more web pages presenting a dialog for
allowing the advertiser 416 to manage ad campaigns, as described in
reference to FIGS. 2 and 3.
[0038] In some implementations, the advertiser 416 can use the
dialog to specify a default click-based bid (e.g., maximum CPC or
"Max CPC") and a target bid (e.g., "CPA target" or "ROAS target")
for each keyword or ad group in an ad campaign. The default Max CPC
can be used to predict a conversion rate for an ad or ad group when
there is insufficient conversion data available (e.g., a new ad or
ad group). For example, a conversion rate can be estimated by
dividing a default Max CPC bid by a target CPA bid. Alternatively,
the default Max CPC can be used instead of predicting a conversion
rate when there is insufficient information to do so.
[0039] In some implementations, the maximum cost per action (CPA)
(e.g., conversion) can be modified by a risk premium allocation
subsystem 422 to identify a target maximum CPA bid. The risk
premium allocation subsystem 422 can adjust the maximum CPA bid to
account for the risk associated with misprediction of click-through
and/or conversion rates, or the risk that an advertiser will hide
conversions through underreporting or adjustment of conversion
parameters. For example, the maximum CPA bid specified by the
advertiser can be discounted by the premium prior to submitting the
bid for participation in an auction (e.g., a second-price auction).
Such discounting of the maximum CPA bid facilitates the application
of a risk premium to be levied on a winning bid by the risk premium
allocation subsystem 422 after a conversion is identified without
exceeding the maximum CPA bid specified by the advertiser. Using
such application of a risk premium, the full amount of the risk
premium can be recouped. However, such application of the risk
premium can affect the traffic distribution for advertisements,
thereby affecting return on investment.
[0040] Moreover, if the CPA bid is discounted by the risk premium,
the price of the advertisement slot might be reduced, thereby
reducing revenue for publishers and advertising servers, while
maintaining the same cost to the advertiser. For example, in these
models there are two cases: 1) when *all* advertisers are paying a
premium (Ad Exchange model), and 2) where only a *subset* of
advertisers are paying a premium (the case for CO). These cases can
be very different. In the first case when you are reducing the bid
for all advertisers, there is probably no issue with reduced
spending because you are applying a multiplier to all bids in the
auction. In the second case, while computing the auction price
(e.g., winning bid) and ranking, one can identify a total
opportunity cost for placing the advertisement (which is
actual_MaxCPC*pCTR) at a specific slot, rather than the
reduced_MaxCPC*pCTR. This can also show decreased spending in the
auction, because an advertiser not paying the premium whose bid is
now above the advertiser paying the premium now pays less than the
total opportunity cost.
[0041] As an example, consider an auction for which four ads (A, B,
C, and D) are competing for three slots. Assuming equal pCTR, the
ads can be ranked by MaxCPC. In this example, ad A has a maximum
CPC of 9, ad B has a maximum CPC of 8, ad C has a maximum CPC of
7.5 and ad D has a maximum CPC of 5. The ranking of the
advertisements can be identified, in order, as A, B, C and D, and
the total expected revenue for the auction would be the sum of the
three lowest bids, or 20.5 (e.g., 8+7.5+5=20.5). If the bid for
advertisement B is reduced by 10% based on the risk premium, the
new ranking would be A: 9, C: 7.5, B: 7.2 and D: 5. The total
expected revenue can be calculated as: 7.5+(7.2+0.80)+5=20.5 which
appears to be the same as the expected revenue with no bid
modification. However, this assumes that the CTR is the same across
all slots. In practice this assumption is not true. Higher ordered
ad slots have a higher CTR. So the above case leads to reduction in
revenue. Moreover, there is a defined reduction in revenue if the
ad due to reduced bid drops out of the auction.
[0042] In other implementations, a risk premium can be charged post
auction. For example, the risk premium can be charged as part of
the auction discount. In such implementations, the fee can be
charged such that the CPA does not exceed the maximum CPA bid
specified by the advertiser. However, because the amount risk
premium is a function of the auction discount, because the cost is
capped at the maximum CPA bid, the risk premium will vary based
upon the auction. Such application of the risk premium would
produce no change in the traffic distribution, since the maximum
CPA bid is not adjusted prior to conversion to CPC or CPM based
bids. If the average difference between the winning CPA and the
maximum CPA is lower than the risk premium, the fees can be
recuperated from the advertiser and the net revenue for the
advertising system increases by the percentage added by the risk
premium without change in traffic distribution. In those instances
where the average difference between the winning CPA and the
maximum CPA bid is less than the risk premium, some implementations
can exclude such advertisers from participation.
[0043] In some implementations, the target CPA bid specified by the
advertiser 416 and as modified by the risk premium allocation
subsystem 422 is provided by the ad server 406 to the conversion
manager 402 where it can be combined with a predicted conversion
rate to produce a new or adjusted Max CPC bid. In some
implementations, the conversion manager 402 includes a learning
model 412, which can be built from the conversion data and other
information (e.g., how a particular query converts across all
advertisers). During, for example, an ad auction, the learning
model 412 can be used to predict a conversion rate for a potential
ad impression. A conversion rate measures how many visits to a web
property "convert" to a sale or "action" as defined by the
advertiser. The conversion rate metric is generally given by
Conversion Rate = # of sales from a given ad # of visits to web
property from ad . ( 2 ) ##EQU00002##
[0044] In some implementations, the learning model 412 is a machine
learning system model that includes rules for mapping impression
context features to conversion rate predictions. For example, the
learning model 412 may include, but is not limited to, the
following rules: [0045] ad appears on America Online.RTM. (AOL):
probability multiplier=1.1 [0046] user is from USA: probability
multiplier=0.85 [0047] user is from UK: probability multiplier=0.95
[0048] Time of day 9 am-noon: probability multiplier=0.9
[0049] Using these rules, if an ad is shown on AOL to a user from
the United Kingdom (UK) at 10:00AM, then the default conversion
rate from [2] would be multiplied by the probability multipliers
1.1, 0.95 and 0.9, corresponding to the impression context features
AOL, UK and time of day, respectively. Thus, if the default
conversion rate is 0.2, then the conversion rate prediction for ads
satisfying the rules would be (0.2*1.1*0.95*0.9)=18.81%.
[0050] Similarly, if the same ad is shown on AOL to a user in the
United States at the same time, then the default conversion rate
computed in [2] would be multiplied by the probability multipliers
1.1, 0.85 and 0.9, corresponding to the impression context
features: AOL, USA and time of day, respectively. Thus, if the
default conversion rate for the ad is 0.2, then the conversion rate
prediction for ads satisfying the rules would be
(0.2*1.1*.85*0.9).about.16.8%.
[0051] In some implementations, the rules used by the learning
model 412 can be specific to a particular ad. For example, the
learning model 412 may include the following rules for a fictitious
"ad 17354" for a London restaurant: [0052] showing ad 17354 to a
user from USA: probability multiplier=0.5 [0053] showing ad 17354
to a user from UK: probability multiplier=3.0.
[0054] In the examples shown, the computation could also be
performed in terms of odds rather than probabilities since odds
have better behaved mathematical properties. For example, with odds
one can avoid problems associated with a probability greater than
one.
[0055] Techniques for deriving rules from conversion data using
machine learning systems is described in U.S. patent application
Ser. No. 10/712,263, for "Targeting Advertisements Based on
Predicted Relevance of the Advertisements," and U.S. patent
application Ser. No. 11/321,046, for "Predicting Ad Quality."
[0056] In some implementations, the predicted conversion rate
(pCVR) can be used to compute or adjust an advertiser's click-based
bid (e.g., Max CPC bid). For example, if the CPA specified by an
advertiser is $50 and the predicted conversion rate is 2%, the Max
CPC can be automatically adjusted to $1 using the formula
Max CPC (adjusted)=Max CPA*pCVR. (3)
[0057] If there is insufficient conversion data available to
compute pCVR, then the advertiser's specified default Max CPC can
be used as a metric, until sufficient conversion data has been
gathered for the ad, at which time [3] can be used to automatically
compute or adjust the Max CPC. During the course of an ad campaign,
the conversion data (and optionally the learning model) can
gradually change over time as more data is accumulated, while the
impression context varies from auction to auction. These changes
can result in the calculation of a new predicted conversion rate.
The new predicted conversion rate can then be used in [3]
"on-the-fly," so that the advertiser's default Max CPC bid used in
the auction is automatically and continuously computed or adjusted
during the ad campaign or auction.
[0058] Equation [3] is one example of a formula calculating an
adjusted Max CPC. Other formulas are possible that combine a
default CPC and confidence information. For example, let V be the
number of conversions observed for an ad or ad group (i.e., the
amount of conversion data available), and X1 and X2 be threshold
values, where X1<X2. Then, for V<=X1,
Max CPC=DefaultCPC;
for X1<V<X2,
[0059] Max CPC=CPA*pCVR*Z+DefaultCPC*(1-Z), where
Z=(V-X1)/(X2-X1);
and
for V>=X2,
[0060] Max CPC=CPA*PCVR.
[0061] Based on the above equations, a default CPC can be used when
V is less than or equal to X1, equation [3] can be used when V is
greater than or equal to X2, and a linear blend of the two when V
is between X1 and X2. Note that plugging V=X1 or V=X2 into the
second formula produces DefaultCPC and CPA*PCVR, respectively.
[0062] Equation [3] assumes that all conversions for the ad or ad
group are the same. If the advertiser does not want to specify a
single CPA for all conversions associated with an ad or ad group,
then in some implementations, the advertiser can instead specify a
target ROAS value for each ad or ad group. In that case, the
advertiser should also report back data, such as the value of a
conversion event that occurs on its web site as part of the
historical conversion data. For example, the value of a conversion
can be the dollar amount of the sale of the advertised item (e.g.,
199.0 for a $199.00 iPod.RTM.).
[0063] In some implementations, when a user specifies a maximum
ROAS bid based upon conversions, the risk premium allocation
subsystem 422 can discount the maximum ROAS bid using a risk
premium. The risk premium can be applied to adjust the maximum ROAS
bid to account for the risk associated with misprediction of
click-through and/or conversion rates, or the risk that an
advertiser will hide conversions through underreporting or
adjustment of conversion parameters. For example, the maximum ROAS
bid specified by the advertiser can be discounted by the risk
premium prior to submitting the bid for participation in an auction
(e.g., a second-price auction) or conversion to a CPC or CPM based
bid for participation in CPC or CPM based auctions, respectively.
Such discounting of the maximum ROAS bid facilitates the
application of a risk premium to be levied on a winning bid by the
risk premium allocation subsystem 422 after a conversion is
identified without exceeding the maximum CPA bid specified by the
advertiser.
[0064] In some implementations, the learning model 412 can predict
an expected conversion value (in addition to a predicted conversion
rate) and use the predicted conversion value to generate an
impression-specific CPC bid. For example, assume the keywords
"computer" and "computer accessories" have a conversion rate of 5%,
and the average dollar value of a computer sold is $1000 and the
average value of a computer accessory sold is $100. If an
advertiser has the same profit margins on both items, the
advertiser may be willing to pay more to advertise on the keyword
"computer" than the keyword "computer accessories." In this
example, conversion value is given by
Conversion Value = $ value of sales from a given ad # times the ad
was clicked . ( 4 ) ##EQU00003##
[0065] A ROAS value indicates how many dollars in sales the
advertiser wants to generate for each dollar spent on advertising.
In this scenario, the total sum of N conversion values, CV.sub.i,
can be divided by the number of conversions N and the ROAS to get
the MaxCPA:
Max CPA = i = 1 N C V i N * ROAS . ( 5 ) ##EQU00004##
[0066] Using [5], if the advertiser earned $3000 on 50 conversions,
and has specified a target ROAS bid of $10, the CPA will be
$3000/50/$10=$6.00. Thus, if the advertiser sold $3000 worth of
product in 50 transactions, the average sale amount is $60.
Assuming a ROAS target of $10, then the advertiser is willing to
pay an average of $6 in advertising costs for each conversion. The
CPA computed using [5] can then be multiplied by the predicted
conversion rate computed using [3] to compute or adjust the
advertiser's Max CPC bid.
[0067] The example above simplifies and assumes that all
conversions have the same value. In some implementations, the
learning model 412 is a machine learning system model that includes
rules for mapping impression context features to conversion value
predictions. For example, the learning model 412 may include, but
is not limited to, the following rules: [0068] ad appears on a web
site in the "travel" category: value multiplier=1.1; [0069] ad
position is "below the fold": value multiplier=0.7; [0070] user is
located in San Francisco: value multiplier=0.95; and [0071] day of
the week is Monday: value multiplier=1.2.
[0072] Using these rules, if an ad is shown on a travel site at the
bottom of the page to a user from San Francisco on a Monday, then
the default conversion value would be multiplied by the value
multipliers 1.1, 0.7, 0.95 and 1.2. Thus, if the default conversion
value is $18, then the conversion value prediction for ads
satisfying the rules would be ($18*1.1*0.7*0.95*1.2)=$15.80.
[0073] In some implementations, the predicted conversion value
(pCVV) can be used to compute or adjust an advertiser's click-based
bid (e.g., Max CPC bid). For example, if the ROAS specified by an
advertiser is $10 and the predicted conversion value is $15.80, the
Max CPC can be automatically adjusted to be $1.58 using the
formula
Max CPA=pCVV/ROAS. (6)
[0074] ROAS can be used directly without CPA. For example, an
online travel store could find that people buy more expensive
tickets at night (7-11 pm) than in the morning (9am-noon).
[0075] Thus, an advertiser's Max CPC bid for each ad in an auction
can be modified dynamically (i.e., on the fly) for each impression
context, providing an advantage over conventional systems that only
allow advertiser's to make a single, static Max CPC bid for each
keyword.
[0076] In some implementations, the predicted conversion rate can
be used to rank an ad in an auction. A Max Cost-Per-Mille (CPM) can
be computed from an expected clickthrough rate (CTR), CPA bid and
predicted conversion rate pCVR. The expected CPM can be used to
determine winning bids in an ad auction that ranks ad effectiveness
using a suitable metric. For example, the performance of an ad can
be measured by an effective cost of one thousand impressions (eCPM)
of the ad. That is, the performance of an ad can be measured by the
amount of revenue generated by presenting the ad to users one
thousand times. The eCPM may be estimated by multiplying the CPA
target, the predicted conversion rate, pCVR, and the predicted CTR,
pCTR, for that action multiplied by one thousand:
eCPM=CPA*pCVR*pCTR*1000. (7)
Machine Learning System Models
[0077] Training a machine learning system to accurately predict
conversion rates can be difficult due to unreported conversions,
which could lead to deflated predictions, conversion latency (e.g.,
a conversion may occur several weeks after the corresponding click)
and the need for a confidence score to translate a conversion rate
into a bid.
[0078] In some implementations, these effects can be mitigated by
training two machine learning models in parallel. A first model
("Model A") would estimate the average conversion rate for each ad
group, while a second mode ("Model P") would predict conversion
rates for specific ad impressions. The ratio of these two
predictions can be used to adjust the ad group's Max CPC, using the
formula
Max CPC (adjusted)=(default Max CPC)*P/A, (8)
where P and A are the conversion rate predictions for Model A and
Model P, respectively. The ratio P/A will cause any bias that
affects both models equally to cancel out.
Normalizing Conversion Events
[0079] Because conversions are defined by different advertisers and
conversion rates of different ads can differ dramatically, a few ad
groups with high conversion rates can dominate the statistics. For
example, consider two advertisers, A1 and A2, showing the same ad
on two web properties, P1 and P2, respectively, with the clicks and
conversions shown in Table I. Advertiser A1 defines every click as
a conversion and advertiser A2 defines a conversion as a purchase
after each click.
TABLE-US-00001 TABLE I Example Clicks & Conversion For
Advertisers A & B P1 P2 Ad Total A1 1000 100 1100
conversions/1000 conversions/100 conversions/1100 clicks = 100%
clicks = 100% clicks = 100% A2 1 conversion/100 10 11 clicks = 1%
conversions/1000 conversions/1100 clicks = 1% clicks = 1% Property
1001 110 Total conversions/1100 conversions/1100 clicks = 90%
clicks = 10%
As shown in Table I, the result is that the overall conversion rate
for P1 is much higher than the overall conversion rate for P2,
although the only difference between the properties is which ads
are shown. This can make it difficult for the learning model to
determine what effect the property itself has on conversion rates.
The differences in the definitions of a conversion can be equalized
by normalizing the conversions.
[0080] In some implementations, a process for designing conversion
models using normalization and impression context features is
described as follows:
[0081] 1. Identify a set of impression context features that are
likely to affect ad conversion rate.
[0082] 2. Build a first model for predicting an ad's base
conversion rate using only ad-related features identified in step 1
(e.g., the number of clicks and conversions as shown in Table I).
The ad's base conversion rate can then be used to normalize a
conversion rate generated by a second, more detailed, model, as
described in step 4.
[0083] 3. Build a second model for predicting the ad's conversion
rate using ad-related and non-ad-related features identified in
step 1.
[0084] 4. When training the model in step 3, normalize each
conversion by the ad's base conversion rate predicted by the first
model, so that each conversion counts as w conversions, where
w=x%/base_conversion_rate." Note that normalizing the conversion
rate removes the effect of different conversion definitions by
equalizing the effective conversion rate of all ad groups to x%
(e.g., 1%).
[0085] 5. Denormalize the prediction returned by the model by
multiplying it by base_conversion_rate/x%. Since the model will
produce an average conversion rate of x% for each ad group, the
prediction should be multiplied by base_conversion_rate/x% to
produce the correct prediction.
[0086] In some cases it may be difficult to extract an ad's base
conversion rate from its clicks and conversions. In such cases, the
ad's base conversion rate can be approximated with the ad's average
conversion rate.
Using Statistics To Predict Conversion Rates
[0087] In some implementations, a statistics-based approach can be
employed to predict conversion rates. In this approach, a machine
learning system can be used to collect the number of clicks and
conversions for each impression context feature of interest.
Statistics (e.g., averages) can then be calculated from these
numbers for use in predicting a conversion rate.
Post Auction and Conversion Processing
[0088] After performing the auction using the target bid (e.g.,
maximum CPC, maximum CPM, etc.), the advertising server 406 can
detect whether a conversion has been made. In some implementations,
a conversion can be detected based upon the insertion of one or
more code snippets into an advertiser website, web pages or landing
page(s). The inserted one or more snippets of code can detect the
completion of a transaction and can communicate the transaction to
the ad server 406 and/or conversion manager 402. In other
implementations, the conversion can be reported by the advertiser.
In various implementations, the risk premium for a conversion can
be applied pre-conversion or post-conversion.
[0089] Upon receipt of notification that a conversion has been
detected, the risk premium allocation subsystem 422 can convert an
impression or click based winning bid associated with the
conversion to a CPA based winning bid. In those examples where the
winning bid is an impression based winning bid (CPM), the
impression based winning bid can be divided by an estimated
click-through rate to identify an estimated CPC based winning bid.
The estimated CPC based winning bid can then be divided by an
estimated conversion rate to identify the estimated CPA based
winning bid. In those examples where the auction is a CPC based
auction, the CPC based winning bid can be divided by an estimated
conversion rate to identify the estimated CPA based winning
bid.
[0090] In some implementations, the risk premium allocation
subsystem 422 can multiply the estimated CPA based winning bid by a
risk premium to identify a charged cost to the advertiser for the
winning bid. In those implementations where the risk premium
allocation subsystem 422 discounts the maximum CPA based bid
specified by the advertiser by the risk premium prior to submission
of the target maximum bid to the auction, a chance that the cost to
the advertiser of the conversion exceeds the maximum CPA bid
specified by the advertiser is minimized. For example, a CPA based
bid of $5.00 can be discounted to account for a risk premium of 20%
(e.g., target bid=$5.00/(1+0.2)=$4.17). Thus, if the estimated CPA
based winning bid is the target bid, the risk premium can be
applied without exceeding the maximum CPA based bid specified by
the advertiser (e.g., advertiser cost=$4.17*(1+0.2)=$5.00). In such
implementations, the advertiser is allowed to participate in the
auction while bearing the full cost of underreporting risk and
miscalculation of CTR or conversion rate.
[0091] In some implementations, the target maximum bid can be set
to be the maximum CPA based bid specified by the advertiser. In
such implementations, the risk premium allocation subsystem 422 can
apply a risk premium to the estimated CPA based winning bid up to
the maximum CPA based bid specified by the advertiser. For example,
if the estimated CPA based winning bid is $5.00 and the maximum CPA
based bid specified by the advertiser is $5.50, with a risk premium
of 20%, the amount charged to the advertiser is capped at $5.50
even though the risk premium would have charged $6.00 to the
advertiser in the absence of the $5.50 maximum CPA based bid
specified by the advertiser. Thus, a risk premium is charged while
maintaining the ability of the advertiser to participate in the
auction up to the specified maximum CPA based bid.
[0092] In other implementations, the risk premium allocation
subsystem 422 can allocate the risk premium by charging a fixed fee
or percentage on top of the estimated CPA winning bid. For example,
the risk premium allocation subsystem 422 can charge a fee of $1
per conversion. Alternatively, the risk premium allocation
subsystem 422 can charge a fee of 15% of the estimated CPA winning
bid to the advertiser.
[0093] In still other implementations, the risk premium allocation
subsystem 422 can allocate the risk premium by charging a
subscription fee to the advertiser for using the CPA based bidding
system. For example, an advertiser might sign up for a service
whereby the advertiser pays $50 per month for up to 30 conversion
from the CPA based bidding system.
Risk Premium Allocation Process
[0094] FIG. 5 is a flow diagram of an implementation of a risk
premium allocation process 500 using conversion data and ad
impression context data. In some implementations, the process 500
begins by determining whether a target conversion based bid (e.g.,
CPA target, ROAS target) qualifies the advertisement for placement
(510). The target conversion based bid can be derived from a
maximum conversion based bid (e.g., maximum CPA bid) received from
an advertiser.
[0095] In some implementations, the target conversion based bid can
be derived by discounting the maximum conversion based bid by a
risk premium. The determination of whether a target conversion
based bid qualifies the advertisement for placement can be based
upon submission of the target conversion based bid to a placement
auction. In some implementations, submission of the target
conversion based bid to a placement auction is facilitated by
conversion of the target conversion based bid to a maximum target
click based bid based upon the conversion rate for the
advertisement, or maximum target impression based bid based upon
the conversion rate of the advertisement and a predicted click
through rate for the advertisement.
[0096] In other implementations, the target conversion based bid is
identified as the maximum conversion based bid. The maximum
conversion based bid can be converted to a maximum CPC or CPM based
bid based upon the bidding paradigm used for the auction.
[0097] The process 500 continues by determining whether or not a
conversion associated with the advertisement has occurred (520).
The determination can be made, for example, based upon receiving
feedback from the user computer or the advertiser computer when a
transaction is made. Such feedback can be provided upon execution
of one or more program code snippets causing the advertiser or user
to notify an ad server when a conversion occurs. If a conversion
has not occurred as a result of the placement, the process 500
returns to wait for a determination that the advertisement is
eligible for another placement.
[0098] If a conversion occurs (520), an effective conversion-based
bid can be adjusted based upon a risk premium (530). In those
auctions using an impression based bidding paradigm, the effective
conversion-based bid can be identified by dividing the winning
impression based bid by an estimated CTR and an estimated
conversion rate. In those auctions using a click based bidding
paradigm, the effective conversion-based bid can be identified by
multiplying the winning click based bid by an estimated conversion
rate for the advertisement. In various implementations, the risk
premium can be a fixed percentage of the effective conversion based
bid, a fixed fee for each conversion, a subscription fee allocated
among conversions. Other risk premiums can be used. In some
implementations, the fee charged to the advertiser can be capped by
the maximum conversion based bid specified by the advertiser. Thus,
for example, if the advertiser specified a maximum conversion based
bid of $10.00, and the effective conversion based bid was $9.50,
with a risk premium of 10%, the risk premium of $0.95 would
increase the cost to the advertiser over $10.00. In such examples,
the risk premium can be capped at $0.50 (e.g., $10.00-$9.50=$0.50)
to ensure that the cost does not exceed the maximum conversion
based bid specified by the advertiser.
[0099] The process 500 continues by debiting an account associated
with the advertiser based upon the adjusted effective
conversion-based bid. In various implementations, the account can
be a pre-paid account from which funds for the conversion are
impounded, or can be a credit based account against which charges
are applied and upon which the advertiser periodically makes
payment to bring the account up-to-date. Other types of accounting
or monetary allocation plans can be used.
[0100] The foregoing process 500 is one implementation of a risk
premium allocation process. Other processes are possible, including
processes with more or fewer steps. The steps of process 500 need
not be performed serially in the order shown. The process 500 can
be divided into multiple processing threads of one or more
processor cores and/or parallel processors.
Advertising Management System Architecture
[0101] FIG. 6 is a block diagram of an exemplary architecture 600
for the ad management system 400 shown in FIG. 4, which can be
configured to implement the process 500 shown in FIG. 5.
[0102] In some implementations, the architecture 600 includes one
or more processors 602 (e.g., dual-core Intel.RTM. Xeon.RTM.
Processors), one or more repositories 604, 609, one or more network
interfaces 608, an optional administrative computer 606 and one or
more computer-readable mediums 610 (e.g., RAM, ROM, SDRAM, hard
disk, optical disk, flash memory, etc.). These components can
exchange communications and data over one or more communication
channels 612, which can include various known network devices
(e.g., routers, hubs, gateways, buses) and software (e.g.,
middleware) for facilitating the transfer of data and control
signals between devices.
[0103] The term "computer-readable medium" refers to any medium
that participates in providing instructions to a processor 602 for
execution, including without limitation, non-volatile media (e.g.,
optical or magnetic disks), volatile media (e.g., memory) and
transmission media. Transmission media includes, without
limitation, coaxial cables, copper wire and fiber optics.
Transmission media can also take the form of acoustic, light or
radio frequency waves.
[0104] The computer-readable medium 610 further includes an
operating system 614 (e.g., Linux server, Mac OS.RTM. server,
Windows.RTM. NT server), a network communication module 616, an
advertising management module 618 and a payment system 628.
[0105] The operating system 614 can be multi-user, multiprocessing,
multitasking, multithreading, real-time and the like. The operating
system 614 performs basic tasks, including but not limited to:
recognizing input from and providing output to the administrator
computer 606; keeping track of files and directories on
computer-readable mediums 610 (e.g., memory or a storage device);
controlling peripheral devices (e.g., repositories 604 and 609);
and managing traffic on the one or more communication channels
612.
[0106] The network communications module 616 includes various
components for establishing and maintaining network connections
(e.g., software for implementing communication protocols, such as
TCP/IP, HTTP, Ethernet, etc.).
[0107] The advertising management module 618 includes an ad server
620, a web server 622 and a conversion manager 624. The conversion
manager 624 further includes a learning model 626. The ad server
620 can be a server process or dedicated machine that is
responsible for serving ads to publisher web properties and for
tracking various information related to the ad placement (e.g.,
cookies, user URLs, page content, geographic information). The ad
server can also include a risk premium allocation subsystem 621
operable to allocate a risk premium for advertisements using
conversion based bidding for auction processes. The web server 622
(e.g., Apache web page server) serves web pages to advertisers and
publishers and provides a means for advertisers and publishers to
specify a target cost-per-action for use by the conversion manager
624 and its learning model 626 to dynamically compute or adjust an
advertiser's click-based bid (e.g., Max CPC bid) or other
performance metric, as described in reference to FIGS. 4 and 5.
[0108] The ad repository 604 can include various ads including,
without limitation, image ads, text links, video and any other
content that can be placed on a publisher web page and interacted
with to drive users to advertiser properties.
[0109] The repository 609 can be used to store conversion data
associated with an ad or ad group. The conversion data is used by
the conversion manager 624 to generate a predicted conversion rate
for given ad or ad group, as described in reference to FIGS. 4 and
5.
[0110] The payment system 628 is responsible for implementing a
payment process, whereby advertisers pay publishers, such as is
done in Google's AdSense.TM. service. The payment process can be
fully or partially automated, and can include human intervention at
one or more points in the payment process.
[0111] The disclosed embodiments can be implemented in a computing
system that includes a back-end component, e.g., as a data server,
or that includes a middleware component, e.g., an application
server, or that includes a front-end component, e.g., a client
computer having a graphical user interface or a web browser through
which a user can interact with an implementation of what is
disclosed here, or any combination of one or more such back-end,
middleware, or front-end components. The components of the system
can be interconnected by any form or medium of digital data
communication, e.g., a communication network. Examples of
communication networks include a local area network ("LAN") and a
wide area network ("WAN"), e.g., the Internet.
[0112] The computing system can include clients and servers. A
client and server are generally remote from each other and
typically interact through a communication network. The
relationship of client and server arises by virtue of computer
programs running on the respective computers and having a
client-server relationship to each other.
[0113] While this specification contains many specifics, these
should not be construed as limitations on the scope of what being
claims or of what may be claimed, but rather as descriptions of
features specific to particular embodiments. Certain features that
are described in this specification in the context of separate
embodiments can also be implemented in combination in a single
embodiment. Conversely, various features that are described in the
context of a single embodiment can also be implemented in multiple
embodiments separately or in any suitable sub-combination.
Moreover, although features may be described above as acting in
certain combinations and even initially claimed as such, one or
more features from a claimed combination can in some cases be
excised from the combination, and the claimed combination may be
directed to a sub-combination or variation of a
sub-combination.
[0114] Similarly, while operations are depicted in the drawings in
a particular order, this should not be understand as requiring that
such operations be performed in the particular order shown or in
sequential order, or that all illustrated operations be performed,
to achieve desirable results. In certain circumstances,
multitasking and parallel processing may be advantageous. Moreover,
the separation of various system components in the embodiments
described above should not be understood as requiring such
separation in all embodiments, and it should be understood that the
described program components and systems can generally be
integrated together in a single software product or packaged into
multiple software products.
[0115] A number of embodiments of the invention have been
described. Nevertheless, it will be understood that various
modifications may be made without departing from the spirit and
scope of the invention.
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