U.S. patent application number 12/179916 was filed with the patent office on 2008-11-13 for system and method for improving the performance of electronic media advertising campaigns through multi-attribute analysis and optimization.
This patent application is currently assigned to Carl Meyer. Invention is credited to E. Diane Chang, Richard E. Chatwin, Sachin Kumar, Jason Lenderman, Sanjay Ranka, James R. Weisinger.
Application Number | 20080281627 12/179916 |
Document ID | / |
Family ID | 39643354 |
Filed Date | 2008-11-13 |
United States Patent
Application |
20080281627 |
Kind Code |
A1 |
Chang; E. Diane ; et
al. |
November 13, 2008 |
System and method for improving the performance of electronic media
advertising campaigns through multi-attribute analysis and
optimization
Abstract
Automated system, methods, algorithms, procedures, and computer
software programs and computer program products for improving and
optimizing the performance of messaging campaigns, particularly for
marketing campaigns in which advertisements or other messages are
distributed over an interactive measurable medium such as the
Internet. Analysis and Optimization method and procedure, an
automated system, and system and method that exploit the underlying
multi-attribute structure, as well as other features and
advantages. Optimization procedures allocate the ad alternatives or
other message to the customer population to optimize business
objectives such as maximizing the number of positive responses
received. Procedure for generating message allocations that improve
and attempt to optimize the campaign performance. Methods ensure
that campaign constraints are not violated. Methods can be
implemented on a computer that is programmed to retrieve message
performance information and to generate recommended message
allocations for each stage in a multi-stage messaging campaign to
achieve messaging goals.
Inventors: |
Chang; E. Diane; (Mountain
View, CA) ; Chatwin; Richard E.; (Mountain View,
CA) ; Kumar; Sachin; (Eagan, MN) ; Ranka;
Sanjay; (Cupertino, CA) ; Weisinger; James R.;
(Belmont, CA) ; Lenderman; Jason; (Los Angeles,
CA) |
Correspondence
Address: |
LAW OFFICE OF DAVID H. JUDSON
15950 DALLAS PARKWAY, SUITE 225
DALLAS
TX
75248
US
|
Assignee: |
Meyer; Carl
Saratoga
CA
|
Family ID: |
39643354 |
Appl. No.: |
12/179916 |
Filed: |
July 25, 2008 |
Related U.S. Patent Documents
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Application
Number |
Filing Date |
Patent Number |
|
|
10024449 |
Dec 17, 2001 |
7406434 |
|
|
12179916 |
|
|
|
|
Current U.S.
Class: |
705/7.39 ;
705/14.4 |
Current CPC
Class: |
G06Q 10/06393 20130101;
G06Q 30/0204 20130101; G06Q 30/0207 20130101; G06Q 10/06375
20130101; G06Q 30/0241 20130101; G06Q 30/0243 20130101; G06Q
30/0244 20130101; G06Q 30/0203 20130101; G06Q 30/0277 20130101;
G06Q 30/0242 20130101; G06Q 30/02 20130101 |
Class at
Publication: |
705/1 |
International
Class: |
G06Q 99/00 20060101
G06Q099/00 |
Claims
1. A method of identifying a relative performance of a set of
creatives, wherein a given creative has associated therewith two or
more attributes, and each attribute has two or more values,
comprising: defining a set of multiattribute data structures and
assigning the creatives to the set such that each creative is
assigned to one and only one multiattribute data structure;
receiving data indicative of a performance of the creatives; and
using the performance data, estimating a set of multiattribute
parameters .beta..sup.m.sub.jk for every attribute m and pair of
attribute values j and k, such that if h and i are any pair of
creatives, then, identifying .beta..sup.m.sub.jj=0 for every
attribute m and attribute value j, the equation
f(.pi..sub.h)-f(.pi..sub.i)=.SIGMA..sub.m.beta..sup.m.sub.h(m)i(m)
either holds as a given or defines an expectation of a difference
f(.pi..sub.h)-f(.pi..sub.i); wherein at least one or more of the
steps are performed by one or more electronic processing
devices.
2. The method as described in claim 1 wherein for any attribute
values j, k, and l of a common attribute m:
.beta..sup.m.sub.jl=.beta..sup.m.sub.jk+.beta..sup.m.sub.kl.
3. The method as described in claim 2 further including the step of
selecting a given creative as a base, defining
.beta..sub.1=f(.pi..sub.1) and
.beta..sup.m.sub.j=.beta..sup.m.sub.j1 for all attribute values
j>1 and attributes m such that
f(.pi..sub.i)=.beta..sub.1+.SIGMA..sub.m.beta..sup.m.sub.i(m) for
all creatives.
4. The method as described in claim 3 further including processing
f(.pi..sub.i) into vector notation by creating column vectors
f(.pi.), with entries f(.pi..sub.i) for each creative I, and
.beta., with entries .beta..sub.1 and .beta..sup.m.sub.j for each
attribute m and attribute value j>1, such that f(.pi.)=X.beta.,
where X is a multiattribute-mapping matrix and .beta. is a vector
of multiattribute parameters.
5. A method of multiattribute analysis for providing automated
measurements and reporting of an importance of attributes and
attribute values of message alternatives, comprising: generating a
set of message alternatives, wherein each message alternative may
be described in terms of the attributes and the attribute values,
wherein an attribute is a component of a message alternative and an
attribute value is a particular instantiation of the attribute,
wherein a given message alternative includes two or more attributes
each of which may be assigned two or more attribute values;
providing the message alternatives in response to requests;
determining an importance of the attributes and the attribute
values to performance of the message alternatives provided in
response to the requests; providing one or more reports describing
the performance of the message alternatives; wherein at least one
or more of the steps are performed by one or more electronic
processing devices.
6. The method as described in claim 5 wherein the message
alternatives are described in at least one multiattribute data
structure.
7. The method as described in claim 5 wherein at least one report
identifies a performance of a particular message alternative with
respect to at least one other message alternative.
8. The method as described in claim 5 wherein at least one report
identifies a performance of a particular attribute of a particular
message alternative with respect to at least one other attribute of
the particular message alternative.
9. The method as described in claim 5 wherein at least one report
identifies a performance of a particular attribute value of an
attribute of a particular message alternative with respect to at
least one other attribute value of the attribute of the particular
message alternative.
10. The method as described in claim 5 further including the step
of using the performance data to optimize campaign performance
through allocation of message alternatives during a multi-stage
message campaign.
11. The method as described in claim 5 wherein a message
alternative is a markup language page.
12. The method as described in claim 11 wherein the attribute is a
portion of the markup language page.
13. A method of identifying a relative performance of a set of
creatives, wherein a given creative has associated therewith two or
more attributes, and each attribute has two or more values,
comprising: defining a set of multiattribute data structures and
assigning the creatives to the set such that each creative is
assigned to one and only one multiattribute data structure;
receiving data indicative of a performance of the creatives; and
using the performance data, estimating values of a set of
multiattribute parameters for each of the multiattribute data
structures, wherein the values of the set of multiattribute
parameters define relative impact of the attribute values on
performance of the creatives; wherein at least one or more of the
steps are performed by one or more electronic processing
devices.
14. The method as described in claim 13 further including the step
of reducing the set of multiattribute data structures to a standard
form prior to the estimating step.
15. The method as described in claim 13 further including the step
of processing the performance data by a given discounting function
prior to the estimating step.
16. The method as described in claim 13 wherein the performance
data is associated with a prior stage of a multi-stage campaign and
the estimating step is carried out prior to a next stage of the
multi-stage campaign.
17. The method as described in claim 13 wherein the multiattribute
data structure is a collection of attributes and an attribute is a
distinct element of a creative.
18. The method as described in claim 13 wherein the estimating step
comprises: selecting a first creative as a base and setting the
attribute values associated with the given creative to a given
value; using a given statistical technique to estimate the values
of the multiattribute parameters; if any values of the
multiattribute parameters are negative values, identifying a
previously-estimated worst creative as the base and repeating the
statistical technique so that the values of the multiattribute
parameters are non-negative.
19. The method as described in claim 13 further including
displaying a report comparing attributes in a multiattribute
structure.
20. The method as described in claim 19 wherein the report
identifies a relative importance of an attribute in determining a
given performance metric achieved by the creative.
21. The method as described in claim 13 further including
displaying a report comparing attribute values for a given
attribute.
22. The method as described in claim 21 wherein the report
identifies a relative importance of each attribute value in
determining a given performance metric achieved by the creative.
Description
[0001] This application is a continuation of Ser. No. 10/024,449,
filed Dec. 17, 2001, now U.S. Pat. No. 7,406,434, which application
was based on and claimed priority to: Ser. No. 60/255,939, filed
Dec. 15, 2000, Ser. No. 60/255,949, filed Dec. 15, 2000, and Ser.
No. 60/318,221, filed Sep. 7, 2001.
FIELD OF THE INVENTION
[0002] This invention relates generally to systems, methods,
algorithms, computer program products and operating models for
improving and optimizing the performance of messages,
advertisements and other content, and more particularly to systems,
methods, algorithms, computer program programs and operating models
for optimizing the performance of advertisements, splash pages,
landing pages and other content and messages in an interactive
measurable medium such as a global network of interconnected
information devices and appliances, where an example of such a
global network is the Internet.
BACKGROUND
[0003] When advertising on electronic media, advertisers and
advertising agencies are able to receive immediate feedback as to
the performance of their campaigns, based on how successful the
creatives are in generating responses (such as clicks--visitors
clicking on a banner advertisement to visit the advertiser's
site--or post-click actions, such as making a purchase, signing up
for a newsletter, joining a club, etc.). Further, these advertisers
and agencies have significant flexibility in their ability to
simultaneously run multiple advertisements (also called creative
messages or creatives) within a campaign and to introduce new
advertisements into an ongoing campaign. In particular, the
advertiser or agency can exploit the placement allocation
capabilities of ad servers to adjust the proportion of impressions
in a campaign allocated to each advertisement. Even when one
campaign ends and the next begins, the distinction between
campaigns is oftentimes more contractual than defined by any
difference in the creative messages comprising the campaigns.
Therefore, a sequence of advertising campaigns can be thought of as
one campaign in which the set of creative messages evolves as the
advertiser or agency withdraws creatives that are no longer
relevant or perform poorly and introduces new creatives. The
decisions to withdraw old creative and introduce new creative are
based on business decisions (such as the introduction of a new kind
of marketing offer) or the performance of the creatives. The
flexibility to add and withdraw creative and to adjust impression
allocation across creatives provides advertisers and agencies with
the opportunity to significantly enhance the performance of their
advertising campaigns by diverting impressions to the better
performing advertisements at the expense of the poorer performing
advertisements.
[0004] Currently, when making performance-based decisions to
withdraw or add creative from or to a campaign, advertisers and
agencies have very little to guide them. While it is clear which of
the existing creatives are performing poorly and are thus
candidates for withdrawal, it is not clear what aspects of the
successful creatives drive their success and hence should be
considered for replication in new creatives. While long-time
advertisers may develop some intuition for the types of creatives
that are successful for them, this type of knowledge is by nature
imprecise, hard to codify and maintain, and difficult to use to
good advantage. Thus, the success or failure of new creative tends
to be very much a random process. Likewise, the process of
determining the allocation of impressions to advertisements is
manual, tedious, imprecise and arbitrary. Typically, the advertiser
or agency will review the performance of the advertising campaign
on an infrequent basis and will adjust the allocations of
impressions to advertisements in an arbitrary and not well-founded
manner based on ad hoc rules. Even when the rules for allocating
impressions to advertisements have some reasonable basis, these
rules tend not to take advantage of all the information available
from the performance data and tend to be applied only sporadically.
These practices result in failure to achieve or even approach
optimal campaign performance.
[0005] In many campaigns the likelihood that a visitor responds to
an advertisement is driven by the particular elements ("attribute
values") that comprise that advertisement. This insight could be
used to provide information about successful attributes and values
for use in determining which advertisements to show in order to
increase the overall campaign performance. However, currently
advertisers and agencies have no tools or methods that give them
access to this type of analysis and knowledge, and hence the
potential campaign performance improvements are inaccessible.
SUMMARY
[0006] The subject matter herein provides a system, methods, and
computer software program and computer software program product for
describing advertisements in terms of the key components, or
attributes, of the advertisement. An "attribute" is a distinct
element of an advertisement that is typically common to several
advertisements within a campaign or across several campaigns. For
example, attributes of banner advertisements include but are not
limited to the graphic image, the text message, the background
color, and the degree of animation. The nature of advertisements on
electronic media dictates that the key attributes be limited in
number. Each advertisement will take on a "value" for each of the
defined attributes. An "attribute value" is a particular
instantiation of an attribute. For example, if background color is
an attribute, the attribute values of background color might be
red, green, and blue. While a given attribute value might be common
to several advertisements in a campaign, the advertisements will
typically be distinguished by having different combinations of
attribute values. The definition of attributes and their values and
the assignment of attributes and values to advertisements is called
a "multiattribute system."
[0007] The subject matter herein provides a system, methods, and
computer software program and computer software program product for
reducing any multiattribute system to a so-called "standard form."
The process of reducing a multiattribute system to standard form
may involve the elimination of certain attributes or attribute
values which implies that the multi-attribute system as defined
does not support the measurement of the relative importance on
creative element performance of the attributes and values that are
removed.
[0008] Once an advertiser defines a multiattribute system and this
system is reduced to standard form, the invention provides a method
for determining the relative impact of each of the attributes and
attribute values in driving the performance of the advertisements.
This method uses past performance data in the form of numbers of
impressions and various responses (such as clicks or post-click
actions, the choice of which depends on the campaign goal as
defined by the advertiser) together with the multiattribute system
defined by the advertiser to derive the underlying drivers of
campaign performance. Specifically, this method provides estimates
of the distributions of future performance of the advertising
campaign creative elements assuming the underlying performance
model implied by the defined multiattribute system holds.
Advertisers and agencies can use this information either on an
ongoing basis as a campaign evolves to aid in the design of new
advertisements or across campaigns to quantify and encode knowledge
as to which attributes and attribute values have success in
generating good advertisement performance to aid in designing
advertisements for new campaigns.
[0009] The subject matter herein provides system, methods, and
computer software program and computer software program product for
addressing two issues related to the process of estimating the
relative impacts of the attributes and their values from the
observed performance data. First, the degree of confidence in the
point estimates of the relative impacts will depend on the nature
of the performance data itself, particularly on the number of
impressions received. The invention provides a method for
determining confidence intervals around the relative impact on
advertisement performance of the different attributes and attribute
values. Advertisers and agencies can use this information to temper
the aggressiveness with which they act on the reported drivers of
campaign performance. A narrow confidence interval suggests a high
degree of confidence in the estimate and allows for more aggressive
action whereas a wide confidence interval suggests a low degree of
confidence and advocates a more cautious approach to, or delaying
of any decision-making. Second, estimating the relative impacts of
the attributes and their values involves fitting a model to the
observed performance data. In some cases the fit can be very poor.
The invention provides a method for determining when the fit is too
poor to warrant reporting the relative impacts of the attributes
and their values. If results are not reported, advertisers and
agencies will know that they should not use information regarding
the defined multiattribute system in making decisions regarding new
creative. When the fit is good, the invention provides methods for
reporting the results of the multiattribute analysis for assessment
by the advertiser or agency.
[0010] Because the assumption that the underlying performance model
holds can be very restrictive, the invention further provides a
method for updating the estimates of the distributions of future
performance of the advertising campaign creative elements, so that
the assumption that the underlying performance model holds is
relaxed but the defined multiattribute structure still contributes
to the estimates. In this way the inventive system and method
allows the defined multiattribute system to provide valuable input
into the campaign creative elements performance estimation, without
requiring that the observed performance data be a perfect or
near-perfect fit to the underlying performance model implied by the
defined multiattribute system.
[0011] Finally, the subject matter herein provides a system,
methods, and computer software program and computer software
program product for allocating future campaign impressions amongst
the creative elements to maximize future expected campaign
performance, where the allocations are based on the estimates of
the distributions of future campaign performance of said creative
elements.
[0012] By applying the described methods on a regular basis
throughout the advertising campaign, the advertiser or agency can
achieve significant improvements in campaign performance. A typical
application might be to apply the methods every day. Using the ad
server reporting capabilities, campaign performance data in the
form of impressions and clicks (or post-click actions as
appropriate) is updated every day. Using this updated performance
data, the methods of the invention are applied to recommend
allocations of future impressions across the creative elements.
These allocation recommendations are then trafficked to the ad
server and the process is repeated the following day.
[0013] The described procedure may be applied to various messages
including, for example, but not limited to: banner ads, emails,
splash pages, home pages, jump pages, landing pages, pop-up
windows, web pages, web layouts, media programming, media content,
surveys, sales promotions, political campaign messages, polls, news
headlines, headlines, ballot measures, ballot initiatives, public
service announcements, sports scores, sports scores for a local,
regional, collegiate, or amateur sports team or teams, and
combinations of these, as well as other content.
BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF DRAWINGS
[0014] FIG. 1 is a diagrammatic illustration showing an exemplary
embodiment of a computer system that may be used in conjunction
with the inventive method, procedures, algorithms, and computer
programs and computer program products.
DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF EMBODIMENTS
[0015] The subject matter herein provides system, method,
procedure, algorithms, and computer programs and computer program
products (software and/or firmware) for monitoring and improving
the performance of a message campaign communicated or conducted
over an interactive measurable medium, such as the Internet.
[0016] Sectional headers provided in this document are merely for
the purpose of assisting the reader in understanding where a
primary description of a particular aspect or embodiment of the
invention is described. It is understood that aspects of the
invention are described throughout the text, drawings, and claims
in this document and that the headers do not limit the description
or scope of the invention in any way.
[0017] In this description, the term "optimizing" is used to
describe the attempt to improve performance. However, those workers
having ordinary skill in the art will appreciate that while there
may be only a single "optimum" which may or may not always be
attained, there are many degrees of performance improvement that
may be obtained. As used in this description, optimization means
improvement in performance as well as the attainment of any single
optimum value. Put differently, optimization refers to methods,
algorithms, and other attempts to attain optimum performance and
does not require that the optimum performance be attained. (The
optimization procedure used in this invention is described more
fully later in this document.)
[0018] The subject matter herein provides optimization methods and
algorithms that select (or select more frequently) and utilize one
or more well performing message alternatives and deselect (or
select less frequently) poorer performing message alternatives from
among the available message alternatives based on the past
performance of at least some of the other message alternatives.
However, recognizing that a particular message alternative's
performance may change (either improve or degrade) over time, in at
least some embodiments of the invention even poorer performing
message alternatives may be allocated some share of the total
number of messages to be sent.
[0019] The described procedure tries or attempts to maximize
performance. To achieve these benefits, the inventive procedure
spreads messages to all or most of the message alternatives in the
earlier stages, to discover high performing alternatives. As more
information is available about the performance of these message
alternatives, a higher concentration of messages is sent to better
performing message alternatives, where better performing describes
relative performance between the message alternatives sent. The
inventive procedure can also robustly handle reasonable
fluctuations in the underlying performance of a message alternative
without deteriorating performance significantly. This latter
characteristic is beneficial because performance of a message
alternative may change over time due to seasonal fluctuations or
other reasons.
Context for Application
[0020] While the described methods may be applied to various
message types, the description below for purposes of illustration
focuses on advertising messages, and web site banner ads in
particular. The general principles, methods and procedures, and
parameters described relative to banner ads (or banners) apply as
well to messages of other types and/or to other content types in
interactive measurable digital environments.
[0021] Message types. The terms "banner ad" or "banner" or "ad" are
used more generically for all message types including banner ads,
where a particular "message" is selected from available message
alternatives. In an analogous manner, an "email" is selected from
available "email alternatives," a "pop-up window" is selected from
available "pop-up window alternatives," a "web page" is selected
from available "web page alternatives," and a "web layout" is
selected from available "web layout alternatives." Using this
syntax, a "banner ad" or "banner" is selected from "banner ad
alternatives" or "banner alternatives." The phrases "message
impression," "email impression", and "web page impression" though
being analogous to "banner impression" have not been adopted in the
field, rather the terms "email", "message", and "web page"
themselves correspond to the impression. Those workers having
ordinary skill in the art in light of the description provided here
will appreciate that the system as described above can be easily
extended to be applicable to other message types, including, for
example, alternatives selected from a group consisting of: an
email, a pop-up window, a web page, a web layout, an ad, a banner
ad, a splash page, a home page, a jump page, a landing page, media
programming, media content, a political campaign message, a survey,
a poll, a news headline, a headline, a ballot measure, a ballot
initiative, one or more sports scores, one or more sports scores
for a local, regional, collegiate, or amateur sports team or teams,
and combinations thereof.
[0022] Campaigns. A marketing or ad campaign involves a list of ad
alternatives (a particular type of message alternative) and a
target customer population. The goal of the marketer is to allocate
the ad alternatives to the customer population to optimize business
objectives such as maximizing the number of responses received. In
an embodiment of the invention directed to advertising, the
invention provides methods for deriving insight regarding the
performance of marketing campaigns in which advertisements are
distributed over an interactive, measurable medium such as the
Internet. One particular type of ad that is a very popular type of
advertisement is the Internet web site banner ad.
[0023] Banners. A banner ad, or more simply "banner," is a graphic
image that announces the name or identity of a site or is an
advertising image, and that the advertiser wants to have displayed
at various categories of web sites. A category may correspond to a
web site, or to different sections within a web site, where a
section is a specific web page or a set of related web pages within
the site. A category may also correspond to keywords searched by a
visitor on a search engine. There will typically be a number of
banners that an advertiser wishes to deploy across the categories
at which advertising space has been purchased.
[0024] Impressions/click-throughs/post-click actions. The term
"impression" is commonly used in the industry to refer to the
occurrence of a banner ad on an Internet web site, i.e., an
Internet visitor to the web site is shown the banner ad. A
"click-through" or "click" occurs when a visitor to the web site
clicks on a banner. This action redirects the visitor to a page on
the advertiser's web site. A "post-click action" is a specific
action taken by a visitor having been redirected to the
advertiser's web site. Such actions might include making a
purchase, signing up for a newsletter, or registering for the site.
The impression, click (or lack thereof), and post-click action (or
lack thereof) are all attributed to the banner ad that the visitor
was shown. An advertiser will want to maximize the response to her
campaign as measured by a rate such as the click-through rate (the
number of clicks divided by the number of impressions) or the
action rate (the number of post-click actions divided by the number
of impressions) or indeed even the conversion rate (the number of
post-click actions divided by the number of clicks). In the sequel
we use the term "impressions" to apply generically to the events
counted in the denominator of the advertiser's objective and the
term "clicks" to apply generically to the events counted in the
numerator of the advertiser's objective.
[0025] Stages. Impressions can occur at any time--whenever someone
visits the appropriate page of a web site at which the banner ads
are being displayed. However, the reports on banner ad performance
are typically updated at discrete times. We will call the
intermediate time between two reports a "stage". Among the many
features that distinguish the inventive system and method from
conventional ones, the inventive system and method are designed for
repeated application at intervals of time corresponding to stages.
Though they may be any arbitrary intervals of time, the stages are
desirably regular intervals of time. For example stages may be
6-hour intervals, 12-hour intervals, one per day, one per week, or
any other interval. It is not uncommon for a stage to correspond to
a day, although, for example, if the advertising campaign is an
email campaign, then the appropriate time interval for a stage
might be a day or more than a day but more typically would be much
shorter than a day. The choice for the length of a stage represents
a trade off. Usually, the intervals should be long enough to allow
collection of significant performance data, and not so long that
important short-term trends may be missed.
[0026] In developing its reports and recommendations, one
embodiment of the described procedure uses the available
performance or response data from all prior stages in the message
campaign. In another embodiment, the performance or response data
from prior stages may be discarded after a predetermined number of
stages have passed or the performance or response data may be
weighted to increase the contribution for recent data and discount
the contribution for older data. In either case, the inventive
procedure seeks to maximize insight and performance.
[0027] In the description that follows, we will view a "stage" as a
period of time. However, those workers having ordinary skill in the
art will appreciate that the inventive method can also be applied
to situations in which a stage is defined by a number of visitors
(equivalently, number of impressions) or some other measure. For
example, a performance report could be generated after each visitor
(equivalently, after each impression) and reports on the relative
impacts of attributes and attribute values, and optimized banner
allocation for the next visitor could be based on this most recent
report.
[0028] Targeting. While the description focuses on the analysis and
optimization of an advertising campaign at an individual site, the
invention can also learn and optimize across the various other
parameters that are available for configuration of advertising
campaigns. While the primary relevant information will be the
outcomes for each visitor to each advertisement, there will often
be additional data available. This information may include, by way
of example, but not limitation: [0029] Data based on the current
visit. Examples of this type of profiling information include the
time of the visit, the type of browser used by the visitor, the IP
address, the site where the advertisement was shown and the like.
[0030] Data based on an earlier visit. An example is data from a
registration form that was filled out by the visitor on an earlier
visit. This may include demographic and psychographic information.
[0031] Data from external sources. Examples include an external
customer database that may provide data on the purchase history of
the visitor. This may, for example, include demographic and/or
psychographic information.
[0032] The visitor profile space includes and generally consists of
a multidimensional space where each dimension corresponds to one of
the above profiling attributes. Visitors are often classified into
market segments based on this data. For example, segments based on
age or income might be defined. A visitor segment consists of a
portion of the visitor profile space. By applying the inventive
system and method to each visitor segment in turn, for example, by
using multiattribute optimization to select different
advertisements for different visitor profiles, the overall campaign
performance can be improved. The visitor segments can be derived
from the observed data rather than pre-specified to further enhance
campaign performance. This can be achieved using the methods
described in U.S. Patent Application Ser. No. 60/255,949 filed Dec.
15, 2000 entitled Method, Algorithm, and Computer Program for
Targeting Messages Including Advertisements in an Interactive
Measurable Medium, which is hereby incorporated by reference.
[0033] As the described method is advantageously implemented as a
computer program or computer program product on a general-purpose
computer, such as for example a computer operating in an Internet
or other network server environment, attention is now directed to
an exemplary computer system illustrated in FIG. 1 that may be used
in conjunction with the inventive methods, procedures, computer
software programs, and computer program products.
[0034] A computer 102 includes a processor or CPU 104 coupled to a
fast random access memory 106 storing data 108 and procedures 110.
Processor or CPU 104 is also conveniently coupled to one or more
mass storage device 112 such as one or more hard disk drives of
which many types are known. The mass storage devices may typically
store information in one or more databases. In the context of the
present invention, such databases may store performance data,
allocation data, and other data and/or procedures or algorithms
that are not currently being processed by the processor 104 or
memory 106. Input/output devices 114 may also be conveniently
coupled to the processor or other computer system 102 components
for inputting data to the computer, retrieving results from the
computer, monitoring activity on the computer or on other network
devices coupled to the computer, or other operations as are known
in the art. A network interface 116, such as a network interface
card (NIC), modem, or the like is also conveniently provided.
[0035] Procedures 110 may for example, include an operating system
120, an optimization procedure 122, a state vector update procedure
124, a message allocation procedure 126, a pair-wise or other
message alternative comparison procedure 128, as well as other
procedures and algorithms 130. Data 108 may for example include one
or more state vector 142, results vector 144, allocations vector
146, constraints list or constraints items 148, stage discount
factors or parameters 150, threshold values 152, proportional of
impressions or trials factors 154, or other data or parameters
156.
[0036] Those workers having ordinary skill in the art in light of
the description provided here and in FIG. 1 will appreciate that
the computer system 102 described here is merely exemplary and that
various modifications may be made, or that other computer system
architectures may be used in conjunction with the inventive
systems, methods, and computer software programs.
[0037] Having discussed the inventive system and how the system can
be implemented, attention is now directed to the details of a
particular embodiment of the inventive optimization procedure.
Input Data
[0038] Performance data. The performance data may include one or
more of, for each banner ad in the campaign: (1) the number of
impressions delivered to date, and (2) the number of clicks (or
post-click actions) generated to date. Typically, in the course of
a campaign impression and click data is recorded during every stage
(such as a day) of the campaign. In general, we will be interested
in only the cumulative impressions and clicks for each banner ad,
but in some cases we may want to adapt the per stage data before
combining it, in which case the per stage performance data must be
available.
[0039] Adapting the performance data--discounting. In some cases,
it may be advantageous to use instead of the raw performance data
itself, some function of the performance data. The major motivation
for this is to discount older data. In the context of banner ads,
experience demonstrates that banner ad performance may improve or
deteriorate over time. So, generally the performance of a banner ad
is non-stationary in a statistical sense. There are a number of
potential reasons for a banner to have non-stationary behavior in
the underlying performance. For example, a banner that promises
overnight delivery may be quite effective shortly before Christmas,
but much less effective on the day after Christmas. Even absent a
particular identifiable event, the performance of ads may change
over time. For example, Internet visitors may see a given banner
too many times and beyond some point the banner loses all
attraction. As the fraction of visitors who have seen the ad too
many times increases the performance of the banner
deteriorates.
[0040] A discounting scheme may be implemented in the form of a
binary step function where data older than a certain stage is
simply ignored, in the form of a linear or non-linear weighting
function, or according to any other weighting or discounting
scheme. In one embodiment, the discount is in the form of a
geometrical discounting, that is, at the end of each stage all data
(such as, for example, the number of impressions and number of
clicks) is multiplied by a one-stage discount factor beta, .beta.,
where beta is a number less than one (.beta.<1). Thus, data that
is n stages old at the time when the procedure is executed will end
up being multiplied by beta raised to the n.sup.th power
(.beta..sup.n). In this manner newer performance data is weighted
more highly than older performance data.
[0041] While not true in all circumstances, it is generally true
that newer performance data provides better guidance as to the
future performance of a banner than does older performance data. In
any particular situation where this generalization does not hold
true, different discounting schemes, including for example a
discounting scheme that weights some segment of performance data
more heavily than newer performance data, may be applied. If no
discounting is desired, beta may be set to 1 (.beta.=1). (Empirical
and simulation studies have shown that a value of the one-stage
discount factor (beta) of about 0.9 works well for a range of
synthetic and real data sets, though values between about 0 and
about 1 may be used, more typically between about 0.5 and 0.99,
more usually between about 0.8 and about 1.0, and even more usually
between about 0.85 and 0.95 may be used.)
[0042] Discounting procedures. To describe the discounting
procedures, let c.sub.i(t) denote the total number of discounted
cumulative clicks and n.sub.i(t) denote the discounted cumulative
number of impressions for banner i at the end of stage t. Let
imp.sub.i(t) denote the total number of impressions and
click.sub.i(t) represent the total number of clicks and impressions
for a particular banner i in stage t. Then the discounted
cumulative clicks c.sub.i(t) and the discounted cumulative
impressions n.sub.i(t) are given by the following expressions:
c.sub.i(t)=.beta.c.sub.i(t-1)+click.sub.i(t), for t.gtoreq.1;
n.sub.i(t)=.beta.n.sub.i(t-1)+imp.sub.i(t), for t.gtoreq.1;
[0043] where c.sub.i(0)=0 and n.sub.i(0)=0. Discounting reduces the
impact of old data and allows the inventive algorithm to be more
responsive to new data that may reflect changes in the clickthrough
rates or other performance indicators.
[0044] The above expressions are specialized for an embodiment in
which the performance metrics are based on numbers of "impressions"
and "click-throughs," where for a particular impression the viewer
has the binary choice of either clicking-though or not clicking
through for each impression.
[0045] In the set of equations above, the discounting is provided
by the factor .quadrature.. The above expressions can be easily
generalized to arbitrary or generalized discounting functions
G.sub.s{ . . . } and G.sub.n{ . . . } which use the click-throughs
and impressions from the previous stages to derive the discounted
cumulative clicks c.sub.i(t) and the discounted cumulative
impressions n.sub.i(t) using the following expressions:
c.sub.i(t)=G.sub.s{click.sub.i(1), . . .
,click.sub.i(t-1),click.sub.i(t),imp.sub.i(1), . . .
,imp.sub.i(t-1),imp.sub.i(t)}, for t.gtoreq.1;
n.sub.i(t)=G.sub.n{click.sub.i(1), . . .
,click.sub.i(t-1),click.sub.i(t),imp.sub.i(1), . . .
,imp.sub.i(t-1),imp.sub.i(t)}, for t.gtoreq.1;
where c.sub.i(0)=0 and n.sub.i(0)=0. In these generalized
discounting functions G.sub.s{ . . . } and G.sub.n{ . . . }, it is
noted that none, some, or all, of the click.sub.i(t) and/or
imp.sub.i(t) may actually weighted or discounted.
[0046] In particular, functions which give more weight to more
recent values of c.sub.i and n.sub.i are of special interest. When
a different binary response performance indicator than
click-throughs such as positive responses or "successes" are used,
and a more general term applied to impressions such as "trials" is
used, along with generalized discounting functions H.sub.s{ . . . }
and H.sub.n{ . . . }, the general expressions for the total number
of discounted successes c.sub.i(t) and the cumulative number of
trials n.sub.i(t) are given by the following expressions:
c.sub.i(t)=H.sub.s{success.sub.i(1), . . .
,success.sub.i(t-1),success.sub.i(t),trial.sub.i(1), . . .
,trial.sub.i(t-1),trial.sub.i(t)}, for t.gtoreq.1;
n.sub.i(t)=H.sub.n{success.sub.i(1), . . .
,success.sub.i(t-1),success.sub.i(t),trial.sub.i(1), . . .
,trial.sub.i(t-1),trial.sub.i(t)}, for t.gtoreq.1;
where c.sub.i(0)=0 and n.sub.i(0)=0. Here, s.sub.i(t) and
n.sub.i(t) represent the state vector for banner i. As noted above
for G{ . . . }, none, some, or all, of the success.sub.i(t) and/or
trial.sub.i(t) may actually be weighted or discounted by the
discounting function H{ . . . }, though in the preferred embodiment
each is discounted.
[0047] Prior information or judgement. When an advertising campaign
is started fresh, a campaign manager may have used some of the
banners in an earlier campaign or may have a prior judgment about
the performance of the banners. In this case the value of
c.sub.i(0) and n.sub.i(0) for banner i can be set as follows. The
manager can provide an estimate of the average performance,
mean.sub.i, for banner i over the previous campaigns. He/she may
decide that the information from the previous campaign is worth
N.sub.i impressions. In this case c.sub.i(0) can be set to
(mean.sub.i.times.N.sub.i) and n.sub.i(0) can be set to
N.sub.i.
[0048] The setting of c.sub.i(0) and n.sub.i(0) as described above
can be used to incorporate a manager's prior experience or judgment
of the performance of the banners. Larger values of N.sub.i imply
that the manager is more confident about extrapolating the future
performance of the banner based on his prior experience or
judgment.
[0049] Those workers having ordinary skill in the art in light of
the description provided here will appreciate that there are
several similar variations of the above basic strategy.
[0050] Updating the performance data. Typically, in the course of a
campaign the performance data set will be updated during every
stage. (Some campaigns may also review performance data and
determine that no update is required at a particular stage.) The
update procedure involves the first and possibly (optionally) the
second of the following two steps. First, the most recent
performance data as observed or recorded during the latest stage
(for example, the clicks and impressions for each banner for the
previous 24 hours as recorded by the ad server serving the
campaign) will be added to the database of performance data. In
general the complete performance data set for all banners and all
stages through the current stage, including any prior information
or judgment, is the input data set to the inventive system and
method. Second, optionally in accordance with one specific
embodiment of the invention, a discounting procedure is applied to
the updated performance data set to compute the total number of
discounted cumulative clicks c.sub.i(t) and the total number of
discounted cumulative impressions n.sub.i(t) for each banner i at
the end of the current stage t. In this embodiment the invention,
the c.sub.i(t) and the n.sub.i(t) for all banners i and for the
current stage t comprise a sufficient data set for computation of
the multiattribute analysis and optimization.
Multiattribute System
[0051] One construct of the inventive system, method and computer
program and computer program product is the multiattribute system,
which we now define, although first we provide an informal
description to explain the concepts.
[0052] The methods described herein take advantage of the
observation that in many advertising campaigns the likelihood that
a visitor clicks on a banner is driven by the attribute values that
comprise that banner. This insight can be used to provide
information about successful attributes and values for use in
designing new banners for addition to the campaign or for inclusion
in future campaigns.
[0053] A banner can often be thought of as being composed of one
attribute value for each of several attributes. It is common for a
group of banners to share the same combination of attributes but to
be distinguished by having different combinations of banner
attribute values. It is also possible for two (or more) groups of
banners to share some common attributes but to have some attributes
that are not common between the two groups. For example, consider a
banner advertising campaign consisting of 13 banner ads running on
Internet web sites. For this set of ads, the marketing manager
identifies three attributes, background color, degree of animation,
and marketing message. The attribute values for the attribute
background color are red, green, and blue; the attribute values for
the attribute degree of animation are static and animated; and the
attribute values for the attribute marketing message are "$10 off"
and "Free shipping". The marketing manager divides the thirteen
banners into three groups consisting of six, six, and one banners,
respectively. The first set of six banner ads has in common the
attributes of background color and animation, the second set of six
has in common the attributes of background color and marketing
message, while the thirteenth banner does not share any of these
attributes. Typically, each set of six banners would exhibit the
six possible combinations of the two common attribute values
although this is not necessary and it is possible to have so-called
"duplicate ads" that share the same value for each attribute. Table
1 gives an example of attribute values exhibited by the thirteen
banner ads. A blank entry indicates that that attribute is not
present for that banner ad.
TABLE-US-00001 TABLE 1 Attribute value Attribute value for
Attribute value for for Attribute 3 Banner Attribute 1 Attribute 2
Marketing ad Background color Animation message 1 1 = Red 1 =
Static 2 2 = Green 1 = Static 3 3 = Blue 1 = Static 4 1 = Red 2 =
Animation 5 2 = Green 2 = Animation 6 3 = Blue 2 = Animation 7 1 =
Red 1 = "$10 off" 8 2 = Green 1 = "$10 off" 9 3 = Blue 1 = "$10
off" 10 1 = Red 2 = "Free shipping" 11 2 = Green 2 = "Free
shipping" 12 3 = Blue 1 = "$10 off" 13
[0054] A multiattribute structure is defined to be a collection of
attributes. In a campaign the marketing manager should define
multiattribute structures so that each banner ad can be assigned in
the obvious way to exactly one multiattribute structure. In the
example of Table 1, the marketing manager defines three
multiattribute structures, one consisting of the attributes
background color and degree of animation, one consisting of the
attributes background color and marketing message, and one
containing no attributes (this last is called the "singleton"
multiattribute structure). Table 2 and Table 3 show the
multiattribute structure and assignment of banner ads for the first
two multiattribute structures.
TABLE-US-00002 TABLE 2 Example 1 of multiattribute structure
Background color Red Green Blue Degree of Static Ad 1 Ad 2 Ad 3
animation Animated Ad 4 Ad 5 Ad 6
[0055] In this first example all combinations of attribute values
for background color and degree of animation are represented by the
six banner ads assigned to the multiattribute structure. The
inventive system and method applies even when all combinations are
represented by some ad, provided that certain conditions are met.
The inventive system and method provides a method for converting
any multiattribute system to "standard form" (to be defined
formally below) in which the necessary conditions are guaranteed to
be satisfied. Table 3 shows an example of an assignment of ads to a
multiattribute structure such that two ads are duplicates and that
one combination of attribute values is not represented by any
ad.
TABLE-US-00003 TABLE 3 Example 2 of multiattribute structure with
duplicate and missing ads Background color Red Green Blue Marketing
"$10 off" Ad 7 Ad 8 Ad 9 message Ad 12 "Free Ad 10 Ad 11
shipping"
[0056] Identifying such an attribute structure can benefit the
advertiser in two ways. First, in the context of the current
campaign, the attribute structure can be used to help the
advertiser more efficiently optimize the campaign, i.e., allocate
the ad alternatives to the customer population to optimize business
objectives. Second, in the context of both the current and future
campaigns, the attribute structure can be used to help the
advertiser to identify ads or elements of ads that are successful
in generating customer response, so that the advertiser can more
easily and more successfully develop new ads for insertion into the
current campaign or a set of ad alternatives for future
campaigns.
[0057] The methods and procedures of the invention are designed to
elicit both of these benefits and are applied to a defined
multiattribute system, which we now formally define.
[0058] Multiattribute system definition. We assume that the
marketing manager or advertising campaign manager has defined a
"multiattribute system." Defining a multiattribute system requires
that the marketing manager group the banners in a campaign into one
or more multiattribute structures, i.e., the marketing manager must
define attributes, attribute values for each attribute,
multiattribute structures, assignment of banners to multiattribute
structures, and assignment of attribute values to banners, as
follows: [0059] Attributes. An "attribute" is a distinct element of
a banner that is typically common to several banners within a
campaign or across several campaigns. In the context of banner ads
in an Internet advertising campaign, examples of attributes of
banners (banner attributes) include but are not limited to the
graphic image, the text message, the background color, and the
degree of animation. [0060] Attribute values for each attribute. An
"attribute value" is a particular instantiation of the attribute of
which it is a value. For example, if background color is a banner
attribute, attribute values of background color might be red,
green, and blue. While a given attribute value might be common to
several banners in a campaign, the banners will typically be
distinguished by having different combinations of attribute values.
[0061] Multiattribute structures. Each multiattribute structure is
a collection of attributes. The "singleton" multiattribute
structure is the null collection, i.e., does not have any
attributes in it. [0062] Assignment of banners to multiattribute
structures. Each banner should be assigned to exactly one
multiattribute structure. A banner that is not assigned to any
multiattribute structure is by default assigned to the singleton
structure. [0063] Assignment of attribute values to banners. For
each banner, the marketing manager should assign exactly one value
of every attribute that comprises the multiattribute structure of
which the banner is a member. [0064] Standard form for
multiattribute systems. A multiattribute system is said to be of
"standard form" if it satisfies the following properties: [0065]
Attributes in multiattribute structures. Every multiattribute
structure, except the "singleton" multiattribute structure,
consists of two or more attributes. [0066] Attribute values for
each attribute. Every attribute has at least two values. [0067]
Assignment of attribute values to banners. For every attribute in
each multiattribute structure, at least two attribute values are
assigned to banners in that multiattribute structure. [0068]
Assignment of banners to multiattribute structures. The
multiattribute-mapping matrix (see equation (3) below) for each
multiattribute structure must be of full column rank. This will
typically be the case if the number of "unique" banners (i.e.,
non-duplicate banners) assigned to each multiattribute structure is
at least as many as the number of multiattribute parameters for
that structure. The number of multiattribute parameters is computed
as 1+#(attribute values assigned to banners in the multiattribute
structure)-#(attributes in the multiattribute structure). However,
while this condition is necessary, it is not sufficient to ensure
that the multiattribute-mapping matrix is of full column rank. A
more detailed check is required, and can be performed using
standard matrix manipulation techniques such as Gaussian
elimination. [0069] Reduction of a multiattribute system to
standard form. Every multiattribute system can be reduced to
standard form through the following steps: [0070] Remove attributes
with too few values. Any attribute with fewer than two values is
deleted and removed from any structure to which it was assigned.
[0071] Remove attributes from structures with too few values
assigned to banners. Any attribute in a multiattribute structure
having less than two values assigned to banners is removed from
that multiattribute structure. [0072] Remove multiattribute
structures with too few attributes. Any multiattribute structure
consisting of fewer than two attributes, except the "singleton"
multiattribute structure, is deleted. All banners assigned to this
multiattribute structure are reassigned to the singleton structure.
[0073] Remove multiattribute structures with multiattribute-mapping
matrices that are not of full column rank. If the
multiattribute-mapping matrix for a multiattribute structure is not
of full column rank, the structure is deleted. All banners assigned
to this multiattribute structure are reassigned to the singleton
structure.
[0074] The multiattribute analysis and optimization invention
requires that the marketing manager define a multiattribute system
and as a first step reduces the defined multiattribute system to
standard form. Thus, in the multiattribute system defined by the
marketing manager we do not enforce that there be any particular
number of multiattribute structures, that any multiattribute
structure have any particular number of member ads, that every
attribute be a member of at least one multiattribute structure, or
that every attribute value be assigned to some banner. We do allow
"duplicate" banners, i.e., two banners that have the same
combination of attribute values. The remainder of the description
of the invention assumes that we are discussing a multiattribute
system in standard form.
Application of the Disclosed Invention
[0075] The subject matter herein applies to a multiattribute system
together with the performance data for the banners of the
multiattribute system. Here the performance data refers to a pair
(c, n) for each banner, where c represents the cumulative (or some
other function) of clicks or post-click actions and n represents
the cumulative (or some other function) of impressions. Typically,
the inventive system and method is applied repeatedly, usually on a
stage-by-stage basis as additional performance data is gathered and
the performance data is updated as described above. We describe the
application of the invention to a multiattribute system in standard
form because any defined multiattribute system can be reduced to
standard form as described above.
Formulation of the Mathematical Model
[0076] Background. For each banner i, let .pi..sub.i represent the
measure of the performance of the banner along the performance
dimension that the marketing manager would like to maximize. In one
embodiment of the inventive system and method .pi..sub.i represents
the click-through rate of banner i. However, in general the
inventive system and method applies to any performance measure: (a)
whose value can be computed directly from the performance data; and
(b) whose random variable converges in distribution to a Normal
distribution as the number of impressions grows. For example,
consider the embodiment in which .pi..sub.i represents the
click-through rate of banner i. Assuming that the process of a
visitor either clicking or not clicking on a banner can be
represented by a Bernoulli process, the number of clicks observed
in a given number of impressions has a Binomial distribution. When
the number of impressions is large, this Binomial distribution is
approximated by a Normal distribution. Because the observed
click-through rate is simply the number of clicks divided by the
number of impressions, we can conclude that the distribution of
.pi..sub.i converges to a Normal distribution as the number of
impressions grows. Application of such limiting distribution theory
and of the Central Limit Theorem and the delta method will ensure
that many reasonable functions and transformations of the
performance data satisfy both conditions (a) and (b) above, and
hence are amenable to application of the inventive system and
method.
[0077] Focus for the time being on a particular multiattribute
structure (that is not the singleton structure). For any attribute
m and banner i, let i(m) represent the attribute value of attribute
m assumed by banner i. The key assumption employed by the inventive
system and method is that there exists a known, continuous, almost
everywhere differentiable, strictly increasing function f and there
exists a set of parameters .beta..sup.m.sub.jk for every attribute
m and pair of attribute values j and k, such that if h and i are
any pair of banners, then (identifying .beta..sup.m.sub.jj=0 for
every attribute m and attribute value j) the equation
f(.pi..sub.h)-f(.pi..sub.i)=.SIGMA..sub.m.beta..sup.m.sub.h(m)i(m)
(1)
either i) holds as a given; or ii) defines our prior (before
reviewing the input data) expectation of the differences
f(.pi..sub.h)-f(.pi..sub.i). The function f is called the
"multiattribute function".
[0078] It follows immediately from (1) that for any attribute m and
pair of attribute values j and k,
.beta..sup.m.sub.jk=-.beta..sup.m.sub.kj, and that for any three
attribute values j, k, and l of a common attribute m:
.sup..beta.m.sub.jl=.beta..sup.m.sub.jk+.beta..sup.m.sub.kl.
[0079] Therefore we can re-parameterize in the following manner.
Arbitrarily select one of the ads as the so-called "base ad"
(suppose this is labeled ad 1 and without loss of generality
suppose that this ad has the first attribute value for each
attribute). Define .beta..sub.1=f(.pi..sub.1) and
.beta..sup.m.sub.j=.beta..sup.m.sub.j1 for all attribute values
j>1 and attributes m. Then it follows directly from (1)
that:
f(.pi..sub.i)=.beta..sub.1+.SIGMA..sub.m.beta..sup.m.sub.i(m)
(2)
for all banner ads i. Equation (2) can be rewritten in vector
notation by creating the column vectors f(.pi.) (with entries
f(.pi..sub.i) for each banner i) and .beta. (with entries
.beta..sub.1 and .beta..sup.m.sub.j for each attribute m and
attribute value j>1),
f(.pi.)=X.beta. (3).
[0080] We call X the "multiattribute-mapping matrix" and .beta. the
vector of "multiattribute parameters". Define
.quadrature..sub.i=f(.pi..sub.i) for every banner i, so that the
vector .theta.=f(.pi.). Then .theta.=X.beta..
[0081] As an example, consider Example 1 of a multiattribute
structure as defined in Table 2. Let Ad 1 be the base ad. The
attribute values assigned to the base ad (red and static) are
called the base values. Multiattribute parameters are assigned to
the base ad and to every attribute value that is not a base value.
Thus the number of multiattribute parameters can be computed as
1+#attribute values-#attributes. The .beta..sub.i, i=1, 2, 3, 4 in
Table 4 are the multiattribute parameters for Example 1.
TABLE-US-00004 TABLE 4 Multiattribute parameters for Example 1
Background color Red Green Blue Base ad (.beta..sub.1) (0)
(.beta..sub.2) (.beta..sub.3) Degree of Static (0) Ad 1 Ad 2 Ad 3
animation Animated Ad 4 Ad 5 Ad 6 (.beta..sub.4)
[0082] In Example 1, the multiattribute-mapping matrix X is
[ 1 0 0 0 1 1 0 0 1 0 1 0 1 0 0 1 1 1 0 1 1 0 1 1 ]
##EQU00001##
[0083] Thus, for example:
.theta..sub.5=.beta..sub.1+.beta..sub.2+.beta..sub.4.
[0084] The situation in Example 2 of Table 3 is similar but
different because of the duplicate and missing ads. Here let Ad 7
be the base ad and label the multiattribute parameters
.beta..sub.i, i=5, 6, 7, 8 in Table 5.
TABLE-US-00005 TABLE 5 Multiattribute parameters for Example 2
Background color Red Green Blue Base ad (.beta..sub.5) (0)
(.beta..sub.6) (.beta..sub.7) Marketing "$10 off" Ad 7 Ad 8 Ad9
message (0) Ad 12 "Free Ad 10 Ad 11 shipping" (.beta..sub.8)
[0085] Here Ads 9 and 12 are duplicates because they share the same
combination of attribute values. In this situation the
multiattribute optimization and analysis invention proceeds by
combining the performance data (discounted clicks and impressions)
for all the duplicate ads and proceeding as if there were only one
such ad. Effectively, the duplicate ads are combined into one new
ad and the analysis proceeds with the new ad but without the
duplicate ads. Any conclusions from the analysis regarding the new
ad are applied equally to all the duplicate ads that comprise the
new ad. In Example 2, Ads 9 and 12 are combined into a new ad, Ad
14. Thus the rows of the multiattribute-mapping matrix for this
multiattribute structure correspond to Ads 7, 8, 10, 11, and 14. X
is then:
[ 1 0 0 0 1 1 0 0 1 0 0 1 1 1 0 1 1 0 1 0 ] ##EQU00002##
[0086] The multiattribute analysis and optimization invention
provides methods for estimating the values of the multiattribute
parameters .beta. and also, via the multiattribute mapping matrix,
the parameters .theta. and the performance metrics .pi. of the
banner ads. The invention also provides methods for determining our
confidence in those estimates. The estimates and the corresponding
confidence intervals of the multiattribute parameters .beta.
determine the relative impact on banner performance between each
pair of attribute values of a common attribute for each attribute.
Therefore, reporting these values (or some function thereof) can
help the advertiser to identify ads or elements of ads that are
successful in generating customer response, so that the advertiser
can more easily and more successfully develop new ads for insertion
into the current campaign or a set of ad alternatives for future
campaigns. Likewise, the estimates (and confidence intervals around
the estimates) of .theta. and .pi. can be used to define a prior
distribution on banner performance. In this way the multiattribute
structure helps to determine more refined estimates of banner
performance, which enables the advertiser to more efficiently
optimize the campaign by allocating the ad alternatives to the
customer population so as to optimize business objectives.
[0087] Relationship of the outlined approach to the Logit Choice
Model. Some of the logic underlying the inventive system and method
is related to the widely used Logit Choice Model. In the Logit
Choice Model, consumers for products are assumed to place utilities
on the different values of the attributes of the products. The
overall utility a consumer places on a product is the sum of the
utilities that the consumer places on values of the attributes.
When choosing between two products, the consumer is not assumed to
always choose the one for which she has higher utility. Rather the
choice is assumed to be probabilistic with the probability that the
consumer chooses product 1 for which she has utility u.sub.1 over
product 2 for which she has utility u.sub.2 given by
exp {u.sub.1}/(exp {u.sub.1}+exp {u.sub.2}).
[0088] Now an important choice in a consumer's consideration set is
not to choose any of the available products, i.e., to not make a
purchase. This so-called no purchase option can be modeled by
including an additional attribute with two values, purchase and no
purchase. Every product takes on the purchase value of this
attribute but we must also include a dummy product that represents
the consumer's choice to not purchase any of the products. This
product is modeled by the no purchase attribute value and arbitrary
(but fixed) values of the other attributes (we assume these to be
the base values for each of the other attributes). We set the
utility of the no purchase attribute value to be 0. Then the
utility of the purchase attribute value is the utility of the base
product--call this u. The probability that the consumer, given a
choice between purchasing the base product and making no purchase,
chooses to purchase the base product is given by
exp {u}/(1+exp {u}).
[0089] In the context of banner ads, the banners are the products.
The visitors viewing a banner do not choose between banners, rather
they choose whether or not to click on the banner. In this context,
clicking equates to purchasing and the visitor never chooses
between two banners, but rather always chooses between clicking and
not clicking on a banner. If a visitor has utility for a banner,
then the probability .pi. that that visitor clicks on that banner
is
.pi.=exp {.theta.}/(1+exp {.theta.}),
or equivalently,
=ln {.pi./(1-.pi.)} (4).
[0090] Thus, represents the logodds for the banner. The particular
embodiment of the invention in which the performance metric of
interest is the click-through rate and the multiattribute function
is the logodds function as defined in equation (4) represents a
logit choice model. Note that, in this embodiment of the invention
the click/no click attribute is implicitly part of the attribute
structure but is not defined explicitly. Because of this
relationship to the logit choice model we will sometimes refer to
equation (3) as defining the "logistic" model, even when the
performance metric of interest is other than the click-through rate
of the banners (or equivalent).
Estimation of Multiattribute Parameters
[0091] The multiattribute analysis and optimization invention
provides methods for using the data (discounted clicks and
impressions for each banner ad) to find .beta.*, an estimate of the
multiattribute parameters .beta., and the associated covariance
matrix V of .beta.*. We can use this information to report on the
relative importance of the values of an attribute, and on the
relative importance of the attributes themselves.
[0092] We now describe the methods employed by the invention for
using the data to estimate the multiattribute parameters. Let
P.sup.n represent the vector of random variables, one for each
banner, of the value taken on in the performance data by the chosen
performance metric, where n is the total number of impressions in
the performance data. The inventive system and method assumes
that:
(n)(P.sup.n-.pi.).fwdarw..sup.dN(0,.PSI.) (5),
where .PSI. is a diagonal matrix where the i.sup.th diagonal
element may depend on the underlying performance metric .pi..sub.i
and the number of impressions on banner i in the performance data.
Let Q.sup.n represent the vector of random variables, one for each
banner, of the value taken on in the performance data by the
multiattribute function of the chosen performance metric, where n
is the total number of impressions in the performance data. It
follows that (by the delta method):
(n)[Q.sup.n-X.beta.].fwdarw..sup.dN(0,n.SIGMA.) (6),
where again .SIGMA. is a diagonal matrix where the i.sup.th
diagonal element may depend on the underlying performance metric
.pi..sub.i and the number of impressions on banner i in the
performance data. We can use equation (6) together with the
performance data to derive estimates for .beta., .theta., and .pi.,
and confidence intervals around those estimates. The estimation can
be achieved through standard statistical techniques such as may be
found in the relevant literature. For example, two alternative
approaches are maximum likelihood estimation (ML) and weighted
least squares (WLS). When the logistic model (3) holds, both
estimators are asymptotically equivalent, both being in the class
of best asymptotically normal estimators. For large samples, the
estimators are approximately normally distributed around the
parameter value, and the ratio of their variances converges to 1.
The algorithm for computing the ML estimates (the Fisher scoring
method for generalized linear models) is an iterative application
of WLS. Given all of this the two methods can be expected to
perform very similarly, especially when there is a lot of data. The
ML is generally considered more accurate with limited amounts of
data whereas the WLS is computationally simpler. Because the ML
approach is iterative, it is not always guaranteed to converge, so
the WLS is likely to be computationally more robust.
Multiattribute Analysis--Overview
[0093] The purpose of the components of the inventive system and
method relating to multiattribute analysis is to help the
advertiser to identify ads or elements of ads that are successful
in generating customer response, so that the advertiser can more
easily and more successfully develop new ads for insertion into the
current campaign or a set of ad alternatives for future
campaigns.
[0094] Given a multiattribute system and a campaign objective as
defined by the advertiser and performance data through the current
stage, the inventive system and method estimates the values of the
multiattribute parameters (and confidence intervals thereon) for
every multiattribute structure (except the singleton structure) in
the standard form of the defined multiattribute system. The
estimates can be computed using the methods described in the
previous section. The values of the multiattribute parameters can
be interpreted as defining the relative impact of the attribute
values, and by extension of the attributes, on the performance of
the banner ads.
[0095] The estimates of the multiattribute parameters are computed
under the assumption that the performance model (3) holds. If this
is the case, or is close to being the case, then the estimates will
provide accurate insight into the relative impacts of the attribute
values and attributes on the banner ad performance. However, if the
assumption that the performance model (3) holds is far from the
truth, then the estimates can be very misleading. Therefore the
invention provides a method to assess the goodness of fit of the
underlying performance model proposed by (3). If the fit is not
close, the method recommends rejecting the performance model (3) as
a good explanation for the observed data and hence not using the
parameter estimates to draw any conclusions regarding the
performance of the banners. This test is described in the following
section.
[0096] Finally, the invention includes methods for reporting the
estimates and confidence intervals on the multiattribute parameters
for easy interpretation by the advertiser. These methods are
described below as part of a description of the typical steps
involved in conducting a multiattribute analysis using the
inventive system and method.
Multiattribute Analysis--Test for Acceptance/Rejection of the
Performance Model
[0097] The invention provides a method to assess the goodness of
fit of the underlying performance model proposed by (3). Having
computed the estimates of the multiattribute parameters, this test
determines how closely the estimates and performance model (3) fit
the observed data. If the fit is not close, the method recommends
rejecting the performance model as a good explanation for the
observed data and hence not using the parameter estimates to draw
any conclusions regarding the performance of the banners.
[0098] The test employed is a summary deviance or likelihood ratio
test. The test statistic is -2 times the logarithm of the
likelihood ratio between a given model and the saturated model and
is called the summary deviance statistic. The basic idea in the
summary deviance measure is to assess the distance between the
observed and model values via a function of residual measures. The
residuals used are called deviance residuals. The sum, over all
ads, of the squares of these residuals is the summary deviance D.
We provide a description of the test for the specific embodiment in
which the performance metric .pi. represents the click-through
rates of the banners and the multiattribute function is the logodds
function so that .theta. represents the logodds of the banners.
Those having ordinary skill in the art will recognize that similar
goodness of fit tests apply when .pi. and .theta. take on
alternative interpretations.
[0099] Given our estimate of the multiattribute parameters .beta.*,
the estimated logodds .theta.* are computed using (3). Then the
estimated click-through rates .pi.* are simply computed as
.pi..sub.i*=1/(1+exp {-.theta..sub.i*}). For each ad i, the
deviance residual is given by
d.sub.i=.+-. {2[c.sub.i
ln(c.sub.i/n.sub.i.pi.i*)+(n.sub.i-c.sub.i)ln((n.sub.i-c.sub.i)/n.sub.i(1-
-.pi..sub.i*))]},
where the sign of d.sub.i is the same as the sign of
(c.sub.i-(n.sub.i.pi.i*)). If n.sub.i>0 and c.sub.i=0, then
d.sub.i=- {2n.sub.i|ln(1-.pi..sub.i*)|},
and if n.sub.i=c.sub.i, then
d.sub.i= {2[c.sub.i|ln(.pi..sub.i*)|}.
The summary deviance statistic D is given by:
D=.SIGMA..sub.i(d.sub.i).sup.2.
For large sample sizes (and a couple of other conditions that will
almost always be satisfied in practice), the statistic D has, under
the assumption that the model is correct, approximately a
chi-square distribution with degrees of freedom equal to
#multiattribute ads-#multiattribute parameters.
[0100] Large values of D represent evidence of lack of fit. The
proposed threshold (which when exceeded by D causes us to reject
the hypothesis of logistic fit) achieves three desirable
properties: stability across simulations; discriminatory power over
data that is far from logistic; and scalability with respect the
degrees of freedom and expected number of clicks (total number of
impressions x average ad clickthrough rate).
[0101] To set the thresholds we ran several simulations with
different numbers of attributes and levels and average and maximum
clickthrough-rates. The click-through rates were chosen to fit the
logistic structure but then a normally distributed noise term was
added to each ad's logodds every day. The variance on the noise
dictates how far from logistic the data is. We ran simulations with
no, low and high noise. These simulations showed that with a
relatively small number of observed clicks (across all the ads),
the statistic D does not discriminate well between data drawn from
a logistic model (no noise) and data that we know is far from
logistic (high noise). In this situation the method will always
recommend accepting the logistic model. Further, as more and more
clicks are observed, the discriminatory power of the test becomes
greater and greater. If we simply set the threshold to be the
95.sup.th percentile of a chi-square distribution with the
appropriate degrees of freedom, then the test's ability to reject
data that is far from logistic (high noise) increases with the
number of observed clicks. However, we also find that the test will
reject data that is close to logistic (low noise) more and more
frequently as the number of observed clicks increases. Because the
purpose of the test is to reject data sets that are very far from
logistic, rather than to tell us we have enough data to reject the
logistic model even when the data is close to logistic, i.e., we
would like to report the results of the multiattribute analysis
when the data is close to logistic (even when we have enough data
to reject the logistic model at the 95% confidence level), we
adjust the threshold so that data drawn from a model close to
logistic will pass the test 95% of the time, regardless of the
number of clicks observed or of the number of degrees of
freedom.
[0102] One exemplary way in which an adjusted threshold T might be
computed is as follows. Let T.sup.0 be the 95.sup.th percentile of
a chi-square distribution with the appropriate degrees of freedom.
Suppose we have observed C clicks across all the ads. Then we
choose parameters a, b, d, e, and C* and compute
m=a(exp {bC}-1)+d,
and
c=eC.
Then
T=mT.sup.0+c.
We reject the logistic model if we have observed at least C* clicks
across all the ads and D>T.
[0103] With a test of the kind just described, data drawn from a
logistic model will pass the test in nearly 100% of cases. Data
that is far from logistic will pass the test with decreasing
frequency as the number of observed clicks increases.
Multiattribute Analysis--Process Flow
[0104] We now provide more information about the process flow
involved in conducting the multiattribute analysis. The first two
steps should happen infrequently; the remaining steps might be
repeated once during every stage (such as on a daily basis) as
updated performance data becomes available.
[0105] Advertiser defines Multiattribute System. The advertiser
defines the multiattribute structures, the attributes and their
values, assigns attributes and banners to multiattribute
structures, and assigns values to banners.
[0106] Reduce Multiattribute System to Standard Form. The
multiattribute system defined by the advertiser is reduced to
standard form.
[0107] Advertiser provides Performance Data. The advertiser
provides performance data in the form of click and impression data
(or more generally, success and trial data) for each banner during
every stage.
[0108] Process Performance Data. The performance data is processed
by a discounting function to produce cumulative or weighted clicks
and impressions (or more generally, successes and trials) for every
banner.
[0109] Advertiser requests Multiattribute Report. The advertiser
requests a report on the results of the multiattribute analysis for
one of the multiattribute structures.
[0110] The remaining steps assume a focus on the particular
multiattribute structure for which the advertiser requests the
report.
[0111] Combine duplicate ads. Duplicate ads are combined into one
by adding their clicks and impressions.
[0112] Determine whether Multiattribute Structure is Appropriate
for Conducting Multiattribute Analysis. To obtain a unique solution
for the values of the multiattribute parameters, the multiattribute
structure must have a sufficient number of ads and in the
appropriate configuration. This will be the case if and only if the
multiattribute mapping matrix X has at least as many rows as
columns (equivalently, #multiattribute parameters.ltoreq.#ads in
the structure) and has full column rank. If these conditions are
not met, then the advertiser is informed that the multiattribute
analysis cannot be conducted. Otherwise, the analysis proceeds with
the next step.
[0113] Arbitrarily select the base ad. Estimate multiattribute
parameters. We arbitrarily select one of the ads to be the base ad.
The attribute values assigned to this ad will have their utilities
fixed at 0. The estimates of the multiattribute parameters can now
be computed using standard statistical techniques such as the WLS
or the ML approach.
[0114] Set base ad to be worst ad. Re-estimate multiattribute
parameters. If any of the parameter estimates turn out to be
negative, the base ad arbitrarily chosen in the previous step is
not the worst-performing ad, at least according to our estimates.
For aesthetic reasons it is preferable to present results with all
estimates being non-negative, so we repeat the parameter estimation
except that this time we set the previously estimated worst ad to
be the base ad. This will ensure that all the new parameter
estimates are non-negative.
[0115] Compute confidence intervals around multiattribute parameter
estimates. Along with the parameter estimates, most estimation
techniques (including the WLS and ML approaches) will produce a
covariance matrix around the parameter estimates that can be used
to define confidence intervals around the parameter estimates.
[0116] Compute revised parameter estimates and revised confidence
intervals. Because it is preferable to show reports in which the
results have some tangible interpretation, it may be advisable to
revise the parameter estimates and upper and lower confidence
bounds before reporting them. In the particular embodiment in which
.pi. represents the click-through rates of the banners and .theta.
represents the logodds of the banners, this can be achieved as
follows. If u is a parameter estimate (or associated upper or lower
bound), then the revised parameter estimate is computed as 100*(exp
{u}-1). The logic behind this transformation is as follows.
Consider the background color attribute in the example illustrated
in Table 2. Here Red is the worst value; it has a parameter
estimate set to 0. Suppose we compare Ad 1 with Ad 2. Ad 1 is the
base ad. Ad 2 differs from Ad 1 only in that it has the attribute
value Green rather than the attribute value Red for the attribute
background color. The underlying logodds of the two ads are
estimated as q.sub.1=.beta..sub.1 and
q.sub.2=.beta..sub.1+.beta..sub.2. Thus the underlying
click-through rates for the two ads are estimated as:
p.sub.1=exp {.beta..sub.1}/(1+exp {.beta..sub.1})
and
p.sub.2=exp {.beta..sub.1+.beta..sub.2}/(1+exp
{.beta..sub.1+.beta..sub.2}).
[0117] In general we expect the response to banners to be very
small. For example, it is commonly accepted that the average
click-through rate for banner ads on the Web is approximately 0.4%.
It follows that the exponentiated parameter estimates must also be
small, so we can approximate the underlying click-through rates
as:
p.sub.1=exp {.beta..sub.1}
and
p.sub.2=exp {.beta..sub.1+.beta..sub.2}.
The percentage improvement in click-through rate that would be
achieved by showing Ad 2 rather than Ad 1 is then:
100*(p.sub.2-p.sub.1)/p.sub.1=100*(p.sub.2/p.sub.1-1)=100*(exp
{.beta..sub.2}-1),
which is estimated precisely by the revised parameter estimate for
the attribute value Green. (Note that we would also get this result
if we compared Ad 4 with Ad 5.) Therefore, the revised parameter
estimate for the attribute value Green represents the percentage
improvement in click-through rate that would be achieved by showing
an ad with the attribute value Green rather than an ad with the
worst value of the attribute, in this case Red (where the values of
all the other attributes are shared by the two ads). This then
provides a tangible interpretation for the revised parameter
estimates.
[0118] Perform Acceptance/Rejection Test. To determine whether the
observed data supports the assumption of the performance model (3),
we perform an acceptance/rejection test as described above. In the
particular embodiment in which .pi. represents the click-through
rates of the banners and .theta. represents the logodds of the
banners, the test involves two parts: 1) checking whether the total
number of clicks (or more generally, post-click actions) exceeds a
threshold; and 2) checking whether the summary deviance statistic
falls below a threshold. The results of this test are used to
determine what or how to report the results of the multiattribute
analysis. In Case 1, when the first part of the check fails, the
reports are displayed but a disclaimer is shown indicating that the
results are not statistically significant. In Case 2, when the
first part of the test passes but the second part fails, the
reports are not displayed but a message indicating that the
observed data does not support the assumption of the underlying
logistic model is displayed. In Case 3, when both parts of the test
pass, the reports are displayed with no covering message.
[0119] Report the Results. In the particular embodiment in which
.pi. represents the click-through rates of the banners and .theta.
represents the logodds of the banners, one embodiment of the
invention includes two types of multiattribute report, one
comparing the attributes, and one comparing the values of a
particular attribute. Each report contains both a bar chart and a
table. The bars in the bar charts indicate the relative importance
of either the attributes or the attribute values. The invention
includes three alternative coloring schemes for the bars in the bar
charts. [0120] Coloring Scheme 1. Each attribute is assigned a
color. Whenever that attribute or a value of that attribute appears
on a chart, its bar is colored appropriately. [0121] Coloring
Scheme 2. Each bar is one of two colors, reflecting whether the
results indicate that the difference between the best and worst
values of the attribute (for the attribute report) or the
difference between the attribute value and the worst value of that
attribute (for the attribute values report) is significant (say,
green) or not (say, red). The bar is colored red if the lower
confidence bound for the best attribute value (for the attribute
report) or the attribute value (for the attribute values report) is
less than zero, otherwise it is colored green. [0122] Coloring
Scheme 3. Each attribute is assigned a color. On the attribute
report, whenever that attribute appears on a chart, its bar is
colored appropriately. Each attribute value is assigned a variant
of the color assigned to the attribute of which the attribute value
is a value. Whenever that attribute value appears on a chart, its
bar is colored appropriately.
[0123] Relative Importance of Attributes Report. This report
compares the attributes defined in the multiattribute structure,
and in particular reports on the relative importance of each
attribute in determining the click-through rates achieved by the
ads. The report comprises both a chart and a table. Details of the
chart are:
TABLE-US-00006 Chart-type: Horizontal bar chart Title: "Relative
Importance of Attributes Report" y-axis label: Attribute names
x-axis label: "% improvement in <Click-through Rate> (best
value vs. worst value)" where the term "Click-through Rate" may be
replaced by the name of the appropriate post-click metric Color:
Each bar takes on the color of its associated attribute, so each is
a different color (assuming Coloring Scheme 1 is employed).
[0124] The length of the bar for an attribute is determined by
selecting the largest of the revised parameter estimates for the
values of the attribute. As explained above, this represents the
percentage improvement in click-through rate that would be achieved
by showing an ad with the best value of the attribute rather than
an ad with the worst value of the attribute (where the values of
all the other attributes are shared by the two ads).
[0125] The table contains one row for each attribute. The columns
of the table are: [0126] 1. "Attribute name" [0127] 2. "Lower
confidence bound". This shows the revised lower bound for the
largest of the revised parameter estimates for the values of the
attribute [0128] 3. "% improvement in <Click-through Rate>
(best value vs. worst value)", where the term "Click-through Rate"
may be replaced by the name of the appropriate post-click metric.
This shows the largest of the revised parameter estimates for the
values of the attribute [0129] 4. "Upper confidence bound". This
shows the revised upper bound for the largest of the revised
parameter estimates for the values of the attribute.
[0130] Relative Importance of Values for an Attribute Report. This
report compares the values of an attribute and in particular
reports on the relative importance of each attribute value in
determining the click-through rates achieved by the ads. The report
comprises both a chart and a table. Details of the chart are:
TABLE-US-00007 Chart-type: Horizontal bar chart Title: "Relative
Importance of Values for <Attribute Name> Report" y-axis
label: Attribute value names x-axis label: "% improvement in
<Click-through Rate> (vs. worst value)" where the term
"Click-through Rate" may be replaced by the name of the appropriate
post-click metric Color: Each bar takes on the color of the
attribute of which it is a value, so all are the same color
(assuming Coloring Scheme 1 is employed).
[0131] The length of the bar for an attribute value is determined
by the revised parameter estimate for that value. This represents
the percentage improvement in click-through rate that would be
achieved by showing an ad with this attribute value rather than an
ad with the worst value of the attribute (where the values of all
the other attributes are shared by the two ads). Note the length of
the bar for the best attribute value will be the same as the length
of the bar for this attribute in the attribute report described
above.
[0132] The table contains one row for each value of the attribute.
The columns of the table are: [0133] 1. "Attribute value name"
[0134] 2. "Lower confidence bound". This shows the revised lower
bound for the revised parameter estimate of the attribute value
[0135] 3. "% improvement in <Click-through Rate> (vs. worst
value)", where the term "Click-through Rate" may be replaced by the
name of the appropriate post-click metric. This shows the revised
parameter estimate for the attribute value [0136] 4. "Upper
confidence bound". This shows the revised upper bound for the
revised parameter estimate of the attribute value.
Multiattribute Optimization--Overview
[0137] When running a conventional online marketing campaign, a
marketing manager might typically employ an ad server to deliver
the advertisements comprising the campaign. The ad server typically
provides the marketing manager with some parameters to configure
the delivery and tracking of the campaign. Reports on the
performance of visitors on or to a site in response to the campaign
advertisements are manually analyzed by trained analysis personnel
to derive new, improved delivery configurations. Typically, these
configurations consist of allocations of advertisements--the
fraction of available visitors that are allocated to each
advertisement. In particular, some advertisements may be turned off
(allocated no visitors) when the analysis personnel determine them
to be underperforming. This manual process is tedious and
error-prone and has an inherent delay between the period of data
collection and the time new configurations are implemented because
of the large amount of data to be analyzed and the potentially
large number of parameters to be modified. Even if errors are not
made and the user is able to overcome the tedium of the process, it
is unlikely to yield optimal or even near-optimal recommendations
for advertisement configurations. This is especially true in light
of the typical delay--between a day and a week--between data
collection, analysis, and a new campaign configuration based on the
analysis. Campaign reconfiguration is in essence a
multi-dimensional optimization problem, that by-and-large cannot be
timely solved using conventional tools, methods, or systems.
Furthermore, optimizations on multiple dimensions are impractical
to do manually and exacerbate the time delay between data
collection and reconfiguration.
[0138] The inventive system and method overcomes the difficulties
just outlined by providing an automated methodology for optimizing
and rapidly and efficiently executing allocation parameters. The
inventive procedure is advantageously run at the end of each stage
of an advertising campaign. It allocates the available banner
impressions for the next stage among the available banners--that
is, it generates a strategy or recommendation for displaying
banners during the next stage of the campaign. In developing this
recommendation, the method uses the results from all prior stages.
(Though in at least one embodiment, a selected range of data from
older stages may optionally be discarded, and in a different
embodiment, not all data from all stages has the same weight or
value in the recommendation.) One objective is to allocate the
banners at all stages so that the total number of positive results,
such as user click-throughs on a web site, recorded by all banners
during the campaign is maximized. Other operations may optionally
be performed--for example, during the ad campaign the client
advertiser or marketing manager may wish to delete or add a
banner.
[0139] While it is generally intended that performance data or
results are received for each prior stage before allocations are
generated for the current or next stage in the campaign, and the
inventive procedure benefits from such timely receipt, the
inventive system, method, and procedures do not require such timely
receipt. In the event that expected prior stage results are not for
some reason received as expected, the inventive procedures are
sufficiently robust that the new allocations are merely based on
the previous performance data or results. Therefore, when new
performance results are not available, the old performance results
are read or otherwise used in the computations. In some instances
this may result in the same or substantially the same allocations
as the previous stage, however, in an embodiment where data is
weighted according to its date (discounting), the allocations may
not be the same. The extent of the difference may typically depend
upon the discounting function and the historical prior performance
results to which the discounting is applied.
[0140] Optimization. In this description of the invention, the term
"optimizing" is used to describe the attempt to improve
performance. However, those workers having ordinary skill in the
art will appreciate that while there may be only a single "optimum"
which may not always be attained, there are many degrees of
performance improvement that may be obtained. As used in this
description, optimization means improvement rather than requiring
attainment of any single optimum value. Put differently,
optimization refers to procedures, algorithms, and other attempts
to attain optimum performance rather than requiring that the
optimum performance be attained. (The optimization procedure used
in this aspect of the invention is described more fully later in
this document.)
[0141] Optimizing over stages. Among the many features that
distinguish the inventive system and method from conventional ones,
the invention provides a procedure that recommends and allocates
messages to and among a plurality of different message alternatives
at intervals of time. These intervals of time are referred to here
as stages and though they may be any arbitrary intervals of time,
the stages are desirably regular intervals of time. For example
stages may be 6-hour intervals, 12-hour time intervals, one per
day, one per week, or any other interval. Usually, the intervals
should be long enough to allow collection of significant
performance data, and not so long that important short-term trends
may be missed.
[0142] In developing its recommendation and allocation, one
embodiment of the inventive procedure uses the available
performance or response data from all prior stages in the message
campaign. In another embodiment, the performance or response data
from prior stages may be discarded after a predetermined number of
stages have passed or the performance or response data may be
weighted to increase the contribution for recent data and discount
the contribution for older data. In either case, the inventive
procedure tries to maximize performance, which may be indicated by
the total number of positive responses generated by the message
set.
[0143] In the description that follows, we will view a "stage" as a
period of time. However, those workers having ordinary skill in the
art in light of the description provided here will appreciate that
the inventive method can also be applied to situations in which a
stage is defined by a number of visitors. For example, a
performance report could be generated after each visitor and a
banner allocation for the current visitor could be based on this
most recent report. Whether stages are measured in time or
visitors, the choice for the length of a stage represents a trade
off. Stages should be long enough to permit the collection of
significant performance data, but not so long that important
short-term trends may be missed.
[0144] Performance. To achieve these benefits, the inventive
procedure spreads messages to all or most of the message
alternatives in the earlier stages, to discover high performing
alternatives. As more information is available about the
performance of these message alternatives, a higher concentration
of messages is sent to better performing message alternatives,
where better performing describes relative performance between the
message alternatives sent. The inventive procedure can also
robustly handle reasonable fluctuations in the underlying
performance of a message alternative without deteriorating
performance significantly. This later characteristic is beneficial
because performance of a message alternative may change over time
due to seasonal fluctuations or other reasons.
[0145] Empirical and heuristic evidence, including computer
simulation, have demonstrated the effectiveness of the inventive
procedure in improving performance over that achieved by simplistic
allocation strategies. Some of these simplistic allocation
strategies include, for example distributing the messages uniformly
over all the different message alternatives or assigning most of
the messages to the best performing message alternative up to that
stage.
Multiattribute Optimization--Parameter Estimation
[0146] The described system and method uses estimates of the
adjusted message performance .theta. (and the covariance of those
estimates) in order to propose allocations of impressions to
message alternatives, as will be described in the next section.
This section describes the inventive procedures for computing
.theta.*, the estimate of .theta., and C, the associated covariance
matrix.
[0147] First, we can use the inventive procedures as described
above to compute .beta.* and V, the estimate of .beta. and the
associated covariance matrix. Then the simplest approach to finding
.theta.* and C might be to take the values of .beta.* and V
together with equation (3) to obtain .theta.*=.beta.* and C=XVX'.
However, this assumes that the performance structure represented by
equation (3) holds. If the data suggest that the performance
structure is not valid, then this approach could lead to poor
estimates of .theta. and hence to poor allocation decisions. To
avoid this scenario, the invention provides a method that employs a
Bayesian approach in which uses (roughly speaking)
.theta.*=X.beta.* and C=XVX' as the prior estimates of .quadrature.
and the associated covariance, but allows the data to move the
subsequent posterior estimates away from the defined performance
structure if warranted.
[0148] Bayesian analysis. The inventive system and method employs
Bayesian variants of the estimation procedures for computing
.beta.* and V described above. This allows the parameter estimates
of .theta.* and C to fall outside the performance space defined by
(3) (so that if the underlying performance metric does not fit the
performance structure (3) and the data reflects this, we are not
forced to use estimates that do fit the performance structure). So
instead of working in the performance space (of dimension
#multiattribute parameters), we work in the larger saturated space
(of dimension #multiattribute ads). However, we supply some
external or prior information about the unknown parameters by
saying that we expect them to fit the performance structure. This
external information is modeled by a parametric prior density. Thus
the parameters of the data density are not considered unknown
constants but random variables.
[0149] Suppose that .theta. is a random vector with prior density
g(.theta.). The posterior density g(.theta.|c) of .theta. given the
data (observed clicks) c is related to the prior density by Bayes'
theorem as:
g(.theta.|c)=L(c;.theta.)g(.theta.)/.intg.L(.quadrature.)g(.theta.)d.the-
ta. (7).
[0150] We could then compute the posterior mean and associated
posterior covariance matrix in the obvious way. Unfortunately,
computing these involves computing integrals for which exact
analytic solutions do not exist. Therefore, implementing this
approach would require numerical or Monte Carlo integration, which
is a non-trivial task because the integrals have the dimension of
.theta..
[0151] Accordingly, we pursue an alternative approach called
posterior mode estimation, which involves maximizing the posterior
density of .theta.. Because the denominator of (7) is independent
of .theta., maximizing g(.theta.|c) is equivalent to maximizing L(
.theta.) g(.theta.), or equivalently the posterior log likelihood
(ignoring terms that are independent of .theta.)
l.sub.p(.theta.|c)=l(.theta.)+log g(.theta.) (8).
[0152] Suppose we assume a Normal prior density (we describe how to
determine the prior density below) as follows:
.theta..about.N(K), K>0 (9).
Then (8) becomes:
l.sub.p(.theta.|c)=l(.theta.)-1/2(.theta.-.phi.)'K.sup.-1(.theta.-.phi.)-
,
where we drop terms that are independent of .theta.. This can be
maximized using standard techniques as described in the
mathematical and statistical literature.
[0153] For large amounts of data, the posterior mode estimator
.theta..sub.p* becomes approximately Normal, as follows:
.theta..sub.p*.about.N(.theta., F.sub.p.sup.-1(.theta..sub.p*))
(10).
[0154] Then the posterior mode and the expected curvature
F.sub.p.sup.-1(.theta..sub.p*) of l.sub.p(.theta.|c), evaluated at
the mode, are good approximations to the posterior mean and the
covariance matrix.
[0155] Finally, we describe two preferred embodiments of the
invention for finding the prior for the Bayesian approach. Those
workers having ordinary skill in the art in light of the
description provided here will recognize that there are many
alternatives approaches to finding the prior for the Bayesian
approach. The fundamental idea underpinning these methods is that
the prior should reflect our expectation that the ads' adjusted
performance measure .quadrature. fit the performance structure (3).
We then use the data to find the posterior, which may be far
removed from the performance structure (3) if the data does not fit
the performance structure.
[0156] Finding the prior: First method. The prior is specified by
the mean vector .phi. and the covariance matrix K as in (9). We
follow these steps to compute the prior: [0157] 1. Choose a
parameter A to be a positive integer. Obtain the adjusted clicks
and impressions by multiplying the observed clicks and impressions
by A/n so that the total number of adjusted impressions is A. In
one embodiment of the invention the parameter A takes on the value
1000, but may take on other values [0158] 2. Use the adjusted data
and one of the approaches described above to estimate the
multiattribute parameters .quadrature.* and their associated
covariance matrix V assuming the performance structure holds.
[0159] 3. Choose a parameter B to be a positive real number. Set
.phi.=X.beta.* and K=XVX'+BI. In one embodiment of the invention
the parameter B takes on the value 0.01, but may take on other
values
[0160] Steps 1 and 3 described above benefit from some additional
discussion. With respect to step 1, roughly speaking, in the
posterior mode estimation the precision of the estimate
F.sub.p(.theta..sub.p*) will be the sum of the precision of the
observations and the precision of the prior. Now the former is
based on the n observed impressions, so if the prior precision
represents the equivalent of k observed impressions, then the
posterior precision is based on n+k equivalent impressions. Because
we want the estimate to be largely driven by the data, we want k to
be small relative to n. We fix k to be A (in general A should be
chosen so that we will observe more than A impressions, and usually
many more than A impressions, over the course of a campaign at any
buy-section). Hence, the data is desirably adjusted in step 1 above
so that the total number of adjusted impressions is A. If we simply
used the observed data in step 1, then the posterior precision
would be based on 2n equivalent impressions and we might then be
overstating our degree of confidence in the estimates.
[0161] With respect to step 3, once we obtain .beta.* and V in step
2 we essentially have a distribution on .theta. in the
(#multiattribute parameters)-dimensional "logistic subspace" of the
(#multiattribute ads)-dimensional space. If, in step 3, we simply
set the prior to be .phi.=.beta.* and K=XVX', then we would likely
never be able to move outside the "logistic subspace" because the
prior density has no (at least in a theoretical sense) support
outside this subspace. Accordingly, we desirably add a little
independent noise to each coordinate in the (#multiattribute
ads)-dimensional space. Adding this noise gives the prior support
outside the "logistic subspace". We arbitrarily set the size of the
noise to be B along each coordinate.
[0162] This approach is similar to empirical Bayes analysis in
which .phi. and K are considered unknown constants
("hyperparameters") that have to be estimated from the data.
[0163] Finding the prior: Second method. An alternative approach
for setting the prior is to use a generic prior that has (close to)
the performance structure (3). In this case we do not use the data
to find the prior. Because we do not look at the data, we have no
way of saying that any one ad should perform better than any other
ad. Thus our prior sets all elements of .theta. to be equal by
setting .beta..sub.i=0 for all i>1. To find .beta..sub.1, we do
use the data to find the average performance measure of the ads,
transform this using the multiattribute function and set
.beta..sub.1 to be the resulting value. Likewise, we assume we know
nothing about the covariance of the multiattribute parameters and
arbitrarily set the variance of each to be equal to a parameter D,
i.e., V=DI. Then, .phi.=[.beta..sub.1, . . . , .beta..sub.1]' and
K=(D)XIX'+(E)I. In one embodiment of the invention the values of
the parameters D and E are set such that D=10 and E=0.01.
[0164] One concern with this approach is that the diagonal elements
of XIX' are not equal. This means that our prior places different
variances around the estimates .phi. of different ads, even though
we have no (formal) reason to assume such a thing. The approach
could be modified so that instead of arbitrarily assuming that
V=DI, we try to choose V to ensure that the variances on .phi. of
each ad are the same. Other alternative modifications to the
approach may also be considered.
Multiattribute Optimization--Allocation
[0165] The invention further provides a method for using the
estimates of the adjusted performance measure for each banner and
the covariance around these estimates to determine how to allocate
impressions to banners.
[0166] Note that the computation of the estimates of the logodds
described above focused on a single multiattribute structure. In
the general case, when the multiattribute system includes or
consists of several multiattribute structures including the
singleton multiattribute structure, the methods described above can
be applied to each multiattribute structure in turn to produce the
estimates .theta.* and the covariance around these estimates C.
Note that if two banners are part of different multiattribute
structures, then the covariance between the estimates of those two
banners' adjusted performance measures will be zero. Further, if
two banners i and j are part of the singleton multiattribute
structure, then their estimated adjusted performance measures will
simply be the observed adjusted performance measures, the variance
around those estimates will be functions of (n.sub.i, p.sub.i) and
of (n.sub.j, p.sub.j) respectively, and the covariance between the
estimates will be zero.
[0167] The allocation method determines for every banner whether
that banner should be allocated or not. If the method determines
that M of the N banners should be allocated, then those that are
allocated will receive the fraction 1/M of the available
impressions and those that are not allocated will receive no
impressions. Instructions to an ad server to achieve such an
allocation of impressions across banners are easy to encode on any
ad server of note.
[0168] To determine whether a banner should be allocated or not,
the allocation method conducts a pairwise comparison between every
pair of banners. A banner that is "beaten" by any other banner in
such a pairwise comparison is declared a non-contender. The
contenders then are those banners that are not beaten by any other
banner. All contenders are allocated, and all non-contenders are
not.
[0169] Comparing two banners. The method for estimating the
adjusted performance measures of the multiattribute banners assumes
that the posterior of the distribution of the adjusted performance
measures has a multivariate Normal distribution. This distribution
is used to obtain a probability that the (true) adjusted
performance measure for one banner majorizes the (true) adjusted
performance measure of another banner.
[0170] Having applied the methods of the previous sections suppose
that we obtain adjusted performance measures estimates .theta.* and
covariance around these estimates C. Then as in (10), we can assume
that the approximate distribution of .theta.* is
.theta.*.about.N(.theta., C).
[0171] Suppose that .theta..sub.1*>.theta..sub.2*. The standard
deviation of the posterior on the difference between these two
adjusted performance measures is:
s.sub.12= ([1 -1 0 . . . 0] C[1 -1 0 . . . 0]').
[0172] Then the probability that the true difference between the
adjusted performance measures of these two banners is greater than
zero is given by
P{Z>(.theta..sub.1*-.theta..sub.2*)/s.sub.12}
[0173] where Z is distributed N(0, 1). We define the test statistic
for the comparison of these two banners to be
z.sub.12=(.theta..sub.1*-.theta..sub.2*)/s.sub.12.
[0174] Define a threshold .alpha. (typically .alpha. is set to 0.5
but can be as high as 1.1). For every pair of banners, compute the
test statistic for that pair. If the test statistic exceeds
.alpha., then declare the losing banner a non-contender. After all
pairs of banners have been compared, any banner that has not been
declared a non-contender is called a contender. Then every
contender is allocated and every non-contender is not. This
pairwise procedure guarantees that at least one contender will
remain.
Extension to Handle Non-Stationarity
[0175] One advantageous characteristic about the Bayesian posterior
mode estimation approach is that it can be easily modified to
handle non-stationarity in the underlying performance metrics.
Basically all we do is inflate the posterior covariance a little at
each step. This corresponds to having the parameters of our model
drifting around like a Brownian motion. The resulting method turns
out to have some attributes analogous to those of a Kalman filter.
(Though different, this has some features that are analogous to our
current approach of using the performance structure (3) to find the
prior but weighting the clicks and impressions so that the prior
represents the equivalent of only A impressions worth of data.)
[0176] The method would proceed as follows. In the approach
outlined above, we combine all of the data for a banner across the
days (discounting clicks and impressions to handle
non-stationarity) and then run the Bayesian algorithm to find the
estimates of the banners' adjusted performance measures and the
covariance thereon. Instead, we maintain the current estimate and
covariance matrix every day. This would be the prior for the next
days' update using that days' click and impression data, except
that we would inflate the covariance matrix by a factor. This is in
some ways equivalent to discounting the click and impression data
(the estimate does not change but our confidence in it decreases).
These two approaches may likely yield somewhat different
results.
[0177] The foregoing description, for purposes of explanation, used
specific nomenclature to provide a thorough understanding of the
invention. However, it will be apparent to one skilled in the art
in light of the description provided that the specific details are
not required in order to practice the invention. Thus, the
foregoing descriptions of specific embodiments of the present
invention are presented for purposes of illustration and
description. They are not intended to be exhaustive or to limit the
invention to the precise forms disclosed. Obviously many
modifications and variations are possible in view of the above
teachings.
[0178] The embodiments were chosen and described in order to best
explain the principles of the invention and its practical
applications, to thereby enable others skilled in the art to best
utilize the invention and various embodiments with various
modifications as are suited to the particular use contemplated. It
is intended that the scope of the invention be defined by the
following claims and their equivalents. All patents, publication,
or other references referred to herein are hereby incorporated by
reference.
[0179] Having described our invention, what we claim is set forth
below.
* * * * *